16
Jan
09

the pile is eating me

img00091

This is my desk in the days leading up to a presidential inauguration. As you can see, the pile is in danger of spilling a little bit forward and fully enveloping me. In case I don’t return your call or e-mail, it’s possible my desk ate me. Make sure the cats are fed. My TV has been spoken for.

I’d be lying if I said I was looking forward to this event in Washington on Tuesday. Just this morning, a good five days out, I was on a train that got delayed twice, both for other trains that had malfunctioned. The train that takes me closest to my office had to hold a few minutes at every platform to try to correct the backup from an earlier train malfunction.

I’m happy that I’ll actually get to live here during a presidential inauguration. That’s kind of cool. I do have a feeling that it’s one of those things that once you experience it, that’s it. It’s not any cooler the second time around. I won’t be able to really go see the parade and I’ll be watching the swearing-in from the heated comfort of my office (note: ‘heated’ is a relative term as I sit here freezing to death with a cold nose and a blanket on my lap).

There are already people outside of Metro stations selling Obama-themed items. Yesterday, someone called me and asked me if I’d received the sample package of Obama-themed orange soda. Yes. That’s right. Obama-themed orange soda. In my frazzle, I said, “Wow. You all are putting his face on everything these days, aren’t you?” She wasn’t as concerned about this phenomenon as I was. “Appalled that I mentioned this observation” would be more accurate.

Orange soda to me is just the beginning. Then it’s like “Spaceballs.” Obama: The placemat. Obama: The flame thrower. Obama: The coffee mug. Obama: The breakfast cereal.

I’m going to bring my camera to work Tuesday and try to get some shots. Maybe not of the real action, but the side shows. The side shows tend to be far more interesting anyway.

10 Responses to “the pile is eating me”


  1. 1 Steven Allen Adams
    January 16, 2009 at 3:08 pm

    Parts of me envy you. On the other hand, I had to follow Clinton and Obama all around the Mid-Ohio Valley last winter and it wasn’t always fun.

  2. 2 Ann
    January 16, 2009 at 7:58 pm

    What’s that groovy book with James Dean’s picture on it I see back there?

  3. 3 thecookie
    January 17, 2009 at 12:41 am

    Gotta say I’m kinda diggin’ the tigerpaw back there

  4. January 17, 2009 at 7:59 pm

    Don’t for get, Spaceballs the toilet paper…

  5. January 17, 2009 at 8:00 pm

    That would be “forget.” doh.

  6. January 19, 2009 at 10:08 am

    Obama is currently in the new issue of Spider-Man. It’s all downhill from there.


Leave a Reply

Like it? Subscribe!

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

The Stat Sheet

  • 34,524 people have read me!

On Demand

Listen to back episodes of our hit show, "Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends" by subscribing to the feed. New episodes every Sunday night at 9 p.m. exclusively on TalkRadioX.

Subscribe to Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends


Powered by FeedBurner


