12
Jan
09

dear south charleston blockbuster

27dresses

Hello. It’s been a long, long time since we’ve seen each other, but you know how that goes. Turns out I got a job offer far away from the friendly confines of Kanawha County and I haven’t had any reason to come see you. I know, I was a really good customer. I rented a ton of stuff from you during the cold winter. But then spring arrived, I moved and I knew our relationship couldn’t continue. Rather than just break things off with you, I abandoned you. I figured you’d just go away quietly.

But like any bad relationship I’ve had, you don’t go away quietly. Sure, you go away. You even disappear. But then you rear your ugly head once more.

After all of our years together, I’m stunned to find out you don’t even know me at all. For you to accuse me of trying to hold on to a copy of ANY movie starring Katherine Heigl tells me you never listened to a word I said. And what’s even worse was you never even called me to accuse me. You had a cold, emotionless nasty gram sent to me asking for your DVD back.

Well, Blockbuster, I’m here to tell you … I don’t have your stupid DVD. I don’t know who has your stupid DVD. It’s someone who obviously thinks a night well spent involves vapid chick movies.

Now, before you call me out on my rentals of all three Amy Fisher movies, just know I’ve never rented a movie that involves Meredity Baxter Birney or the phrase “Not Without My Daughter.” Just because I spend lazy Saturdays watching Lifetime Movie Network doesn’t mean I’d ever have the desire to pay for a new release.

Again, it’s like I said — It’s like you never knew me at all.

So, understand that demanding the return of something I don’t have will get you nowhere. In fact, you should be thanking me for preventing someone else from having to watch that movie. But you won’t thank me. You never did.

I miss you, but only when there’s nothing on TV. I know I have one of you just down the street, but it won’t ever be the same. Nothing compares 2 u.

Love (but tinged with hate),

Jacque

5 Responses to “dear south charleston blockbuster”


  1. 1 thecookie
    January 12, 2009 at 7:07 pm

    Blockhustler is the devil — giv e ’em hell!!!

  2. January 13, 2009 at 1:29 am

    South Floridians can say that about Blockbuster, since it was founded by Wayne Huizenga, the man who bought a World Series so he could sell the Florida Marlins…

    TW

  3. 3 Mr. Hollywood
    January 13, 2009 at 10:14 pm

    Blockbuster HAS to try and get their movies back. It’s the only way to make up for a 950 Million dollar LOSS in 07. Hahahaha! Boo Blockbuster.

  4. January 14, 2009 at 12:06 am

    I think I visited blockbuster in Morgantown, but it was so darned expensive I gave up. Now with DVR and DishOnDemand there is absolutely no need! And, I can totally attest that you would have NEVER rented 27 Dresses, geez!

  5. 5 girlofwords
    January 14, 2009 at 12:36 am

    Blockbuster wonders why everybody loathes them … and then something like this happens. It got cleared up late today. It truly was their mistake.


Leave a Reply

Like it? Subscribe!

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

The Stat Sheet

  • 34,542 people have read me!

On Demand

Listen to back episodes of our hit show, "Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends" by subscribing to the feed. New episodes every Sunday night at 9 p.m. exclusively on TalkRadioX.

Subscribe to Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends


Powered by FeedBurner


