06
Dec
08

*tap tap tap* is this thing on?

To put this as succinctly as possible, I’ve had better weeks.

It started on Monday, which really should have just tipped me off. Any time you have a Monday that was as epic as mine was, it’s hard to imagine that things get much bette from there. (See previous post — giving it the appropriate gestation period before I unleash a full-length description of events, because it’s too good to keep bottled up forever.)

Tuesday wasn’t anything notable … just busy. Things really, truly went to hell in a handbasket on Wednesday and Thursday. Thursday included a trip to the AT&T store to replace my BlackBerry, which decided it didn’t need to have a functional “Alt” key anymore. If you’re a BlackBerry user, you know that the thing’s next to useless without the “Alt” key. Thanks, karma. On top of the Wednesday I had, that was greatly necessary.

I didn’t see any sort of upturn until Friday. Of any day this week, Friday — as uneventful and busy as it was — was a fantastic day. Friday was mostly spent doing A LOT of work for the Web (… sigh) and trying to get Monday stuff done quickly. It also included a trip to Largo to Outback. I needed some really good food. It was a good choice.

So, now, it’s Saturday afternoon and I realized I haven’t touched my blog all week. I’ve been on Facebook a couple of times a day, but that’s about it. Maybe I needed a break. Maybe I had more pressing issues to handle here at home than spend my night with the laptop in front of me. Maybe I just didn’t feel like I had anything to say.

Today’s been spent looking at apartments online (for May — I know it’s only December, but I don’t want to get screwed again because I had to make the decision quickly) and watching shows like “Domenick Dunne’s Justice” and “Extreme Forensics” and “Most Evil.” Maybe I should worry why I spend my weekends watching shows about killing people. (Note to self: Find therapist. Note to readers: I just changed it to Animal Planet to watch “Fat Pets” because something’s inherently funny about a 202-pound Rottweiler.)

I’ve decided that at some point today, I’m venturing out to buy a Christmas tree and some other necessary decorations. My last Christmas — despite my family’s best efforts — just sucked. It sucked because I was less than 30 days from a divorce and I was in an apartment all by myself trying to figure out what to do next. Nothing could have really made Christmas OK for me last year. I’m determined not to repeat the mistake. I won’t come home for the next 19 days looking around and not feeling like it’s Christmas. I don’t want the next 19 days to feel like any other one.

I had a noble goal of cutting down my own tree, but I’m not sure I’m going that route. I think there’s a Christmas tree lot just down the road next to Home Depot, so I’m going to go there because I KNOW inside the Home Depot, I can get things like ornaments and lights and other assorted holiday crap.

(Random sidenote: It’s really sad that Max, the 202-pound Rottweiler can’t really carry his own weight, but it’s hilarious when you hear the phrase ‘Max will need back wheels.’)

As far as I know, there’s going to be a show tomorrow. I’ve not even had a lot of love for it lately, which is depressing. It’s not been something I’ve been excited about. More something that’s like “meh, I should do it.” I’m hopeful today in the holiday prep, the spirit of some kind will find its way to me and I’ll be excited. Especially since I know there are some of you out there who really do like it.

So, that’s about it. Otherwise, all’s well, or as well as it can be.

(Random sidenote: I’m pretty sure they’re giving this dog a gastric bypass, and they just showed a cat that weighs 23 pounds. Fat cats are hilarious.)

4 Responses to “*tap tap tap* is this thing on?”


  1. 1 Another Paige
    December 6, 2008 at 8:09 pm

    I had a rotten week to. Mine all centered on Thursday though when I had my thesis proposal defense meeting and one of my committee members said he loved my script but thought I should completely change it. And won’t let me move forward until I either follow his suggestions or convince him that I’m right. Here’s hoping for the later.

  2. December 7, 2008 at 2:50 pm

    No mention of the massive Gannett layoffs this week? I’ve expected some kind of commentary on it from you.

    On a side note I’d submit Shattered Glass as a great film for would be journalists as well.

  3. 3 girlofwords
    December 8, 2008 at 1:39 pm

    Dan: I think it’s one of those things where as long as I keep coming to work and nobody’s laying me off, I’m happy. I did talk about it a little last night. It’s so hard to put the finger of blame on someone for the decline of newspapers. The greatest hope I’d had in months was the day after the election where EVERYBODY I passed in DC had a newspaper in their hand, if not more than one. But trust me, I’m beyond thankful I’m still employed.

  4. December 10, 2008 at 2:10 am

    My cat, George, weighs 23 pounds. Feel free to mock him as he climbs a ladder and then tries to catch his tail:

    I hope this week is working out better for you.


Leave a Reply

Like it? Subscribe!

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

The Stat Sheet

  • 34,514 people have read me!

On Demand

Listen to back episodes of our hit show, "Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends" by subscribing to the feed. New episodes every Sunday night at 9 p.m. exclusively on TalkRadioX.

Subscribe to Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends


Powered by FeedBurner


