02
Dec
08

in a nutshell

I would try to blog about what happened to me at work yesterday, but I don’t even think the written word could do it justice. I also don’t want the person involved to stumble upon it (I have a feeling he’s a vengeful, Googley-type) and find some reason to drag me through any more. But let’s just say that my skills as a “people manager” were tested beyond all conceivable limits. I’ve never, in my 10 years in this business, experienced anything like yesterday. I’ve also never, in my 10 years in this business, had a grown man scream like a little girl to keep his freelance job after committing one of the most egregious ethical violations I’d ever heard.

But by the time I left yesterday (now extremely behind thanks to losing an ENTIRE day dealing with this nuclear fallout) I was spent. Just sort of spaced out. I couldn’t even read on the train on the way home. I didn’t have the energy. For some reason, between Columbia Heights and Georgia Avenue-Petworth, I had a vivid flash of Lloyd Bridges saying, “Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue.”

This was definitely the wrong week to quit sniffing glue.

9 Responses to “in a nutshell”


  1. December 2, 2008 at 8:31 pm

    You gotta know when to hold ’em…know when to fold ’em….know when to walk away…know when to run…

  2. 2 girlofwords
    December 2, 2008 at 9:34 pm

    I also know to check over my shoulder know when walking to the train.

    In retrospect, as I mentioned to you, this is as close to what I experienced as I can possibly relay:

  3. 3 Another Paige
    December 3, 2008 at 11:53 am

    I spent my day yesterday listening to the ramblings of an addict that were so delusional they bordered on hilarious. Apparently that is par for the course in documentary film… but it still sounds better than your day. I can’t imagine anything worse than a man screaming “like a little girl”.
    Much sympathy.

  4. December 3, 2008 at 12:02 pm

    It was the strangest thing I’ve ever experienced. I’m still just at a loss. In about 24 hours, it will be far more hilarious. “Little girl” is not an exaggeration. I’m serious as a heart attack. It involved squealing.

  5. December 3, 2008 at 2:59 pm

    You dangle that carrot and yank it away? Oh what can I do to persuade you to divulge all???

  6. 6 Another Paige
    December 3, 2008 at 3:17 pm

    You just need to wait 24 hrs and tell us all the hilarious version…

  7. December 3, 2008 at 3:59 pm

    You’re probably right, AP. I just cracked myself up, actually, thinking about it.

  8. 8 Another Paige
    December 3, 2008 at 6:39 pm

    “You’re probably right…” Those are three words I never get tired of hearing… LOL

  9. December 3, 2008 at 11:44 pm

    “You’re right, you’re right, I know you’re right”

    — Carrie Fisher
    “…When Harry Met Sally”


Leave a Reply

Like it? Subscribe!

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

The Stat Sheet

  • 34,542 people have read me!

On Demand

Listen to back episodes of our hit show, "Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends" by subscribing to the feed. New episodes every Sunday night at 9 p.m. exclusively on TalkRadioX.

Subscribe to Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends


Powered by FeedBurner


