27
Nov
08

happy thanksgiving

I made this myself!! It's my first real turkey!

I made this myself!! It's my first real turkey!!

I’m a pretty lucky person. I know I like to labor under the pretense that I’m karma’s favorite whipping girl and that I’ve done something very, very bad in a past life to explain why I feel cursed with recurring bad luck.

But I’m really pretty lucky. I’m not 30 years old yet and I’m working at a job I could only have dreamed of as a child. I’m working at a newspaper in a real, big city. And not even just any big city. Arguably, the center of the free world. The capital. The place where it all goes down.

Sometimes, it takes some perspective. Six months ago today, I started my job in D.C. Six months ago Monday, my family thought that the unthinkable actually happened.

So, I thought I’d just use a couple of pictures to show what I’m most thankful for this year. I’m thankful, and so lucky, for so much, but these are the biggest three.

My Dad and Mom. For loving me unconditionally.

My Dad and Mom. For loving me unconditionally.

She might not get me. I might not get her. Love no matter what.

She might not get me. I might not get her. Love no matter what.

Happy Thanksgiving, everybody! Take time to today to make sure the ones you love know you love them. Friends, family, the guy who sells you cigarettes at the drive-thru … they all deserve it.

7 Responses to “happy thanksgiving”


  1. November 27, 2008 at 2:32 pm

    Happy Thanksgiving to YOU as well — reading your stuff makes me smile often and so I add girlofwords to my list of thanky-thanks!

  2. November 27, 2008 at 11:59 pm

    Hey GoDub,

    I like the pictures of your family you posted here; your dad looks like a nice guy, and your mom looks like you 🙂 And given how dicey everything was earlier this year, I’m sure you’re particularly thankful to have your dad still be around…

    The anniversary of my dad’s passing was on Sunday, but the year he died (2006) that was the date on which Thanksgiving fell, so I associate him with both the actual date and with this holiday. Right now I’m listening to Herbie Hancock, an artist he liked; earlier in the day, when I was driving to the gym, I realized my route would take me past the hospital where he died, and as I did so, the song playing on the radio was “Stairway To Heaven”. Even though my dad wasn’t a hard-rock fan, that somehow seemed appropriate…

    Happy Thanksgiving…

    TW

  3. November 28, 2008 at 12:05 pm

    That’s a really great story, TW. Thank you so much for sharing that. I’m so lucky to have my father here. My Dad is a really nice guy. In spite of everything he’s been through, his heart is still in tact. You can tell when you talk to him.

    My sister looks much more like my mother than I do. People go back and forth on who I look like. If I could find it, I’ll post a picture of my dad’s mother. The resemblance is uncanny.

    I’m thankful to have two friends like you guys! Even though you’ve both come along randomly, you’ve both enriched my life greatly. 🙂 I’m lucky!!

  4. 4 Another Paige
    November 28, 2008 at 5:14 pm

    I came incredibly close to losing my grandfather a couple months ago and it felt so good to sit across the dinner table from him yesterday for Thanksgiving dinner.
    Overall, I’ve had a pretty tough year but I still have so much to be thankful for.

  5. 5 girlofwords
    November 28, 2008 at 5:16 pm

    Doesn’t it feel great? When I was home for my Dad’s birthday a few weeks ago, it was just so great to have him there eating cake. And every time I talk to him on the phone, I’m so happy. When I hear him say things I’ve heard a dozen times before … I love it. It makes me feel so lucky and happy.

  6. 6 Another Paige
    November 28, 2008 at 6:18 pm

    It does. Especially after you get to the point where you’ve mentally prepared yourself for the worst. After that, every single time you see them is like a gift you didn’t expect to get.

  7. 7 Ann
    November 30, 2008 at 11:23 am

    That’s one good looking bird 🙂 I’m glad you were able to have your own big city holiday and be thankful you weren’t with all the yinzers over the weekend like me!


Leave a Reply

Like it? Subscribe!

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Top Clicks

  • None

The Stat Sheet

  • 34,507 people have read me!

On Demand

Listen to back episodes of our hit show, "Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends" by subscribing to the feed. New episodes every Sunday night at 9 p.m. exclusively on TalkRadioX.

Subscribe to Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends


Powered by FeedBurner


