20
Nov
08

did someone ask for a camel?

I am pretty sure that in the stuffed alligator discussion, someone said they wished I’d been mailed a stuffed camel.

Well, wish no more.

The camel joins the as-yet-to-be-named alligator on the desk, but try as I may, I can’t remember who wanted a stuffed camel. If it’s you, lemme know. πŸ™‚

16 Responses to “did someone ask for a camel?”


  1. November 20, 2008 at 1:54 pm

    Oh. My. God. I can’t believe you got a stuffed camel. It was me. (see my facebook) How the hell did you get a camel? Are you kidding me????

  2. 2 girlofwords
    November 20, 2008 at 1:56 pm

    THAT’S IT! It was Facebook!! I knew SOMEONE asked me for a stuffed camel, and I went through the blog comments and couldn’t figure out who and I hadn’t checked Facebook yet. NOW I remember.

    The camel came in the mail today. It was to invite me to an event at Mount Vernon.

    And, well, since you were the first person to ask for a stuffed camel, it’s got to go to you. On top of the eerie as hell coincidence that 48 hours after you ask for a camel, one appears.

  3. November 20, 2008 at 2:02 pm

    I KNOW- I now believe in the power of The Camel. I’m gonna name it Humperdink! This is too fucking funny.
    Should I put in a request now for a gorgeous man and a million dollars? I promise to donate to charity!!! πŸ˜‰

  4. 4 girlofwords
    November 20, 2008 at 2:04 pm

    I’m literally stunned that you conjured a camel.

    Start wishing for anything and everything to come to me in the mail. Money, men, free liquor that doesn’t smell funny, CDs, DVDs, A CAR!!!

  5. 5 Ann
    November 20, 2008 at 3:10 pm

    Is that how we’re getting the children to smoke these days?

    Since we’re placing requests, I also would like someone to mail you money, a new car and B.E. Taylor.

  6. 6 girlofwords
    November 20, 2008 at 3:12 pm

    B.E. Taylor shows up in this office and I’ll throw hands. You better believe it.

  7. November 20, 2008 at 8:02 pm

    Are you sure someone wasn’t offering you a dowry?

  8. November 21, 2008 at 1:51 am

    Speaking of mail, my addition to the Happy Hour studio decor is still languishing in my car…

    TW

  9. November 21, 2008 at 9:04 am

    Also, given the fact that said camel appears to be excreting dangerous push pins, you might want to turn it over to the authorities.

  10. November 21, 2008 at 11:45 am

    Well, hold on there, Paige. That camel’s standing right by the keyboard; he looks like he’s ready to get to work, which is more than we can say about the lady behind the camera (much love, GoDub πŸ™‚ ). If said editor is smart, said editor would just give said camel a desk in the bullpen and put him to work. Even if said camel turns out to be a terrorist, at least she can get a couple articles out of him before Homeland Security figures out he’s an Animal of Interest…

    TW

  11. 11 girlofwords
    November 21, 2008 at 11:52 am

    TW: Oh no you din’nt.

    Leave my sleeper cell camel out of this! He’s standing watch over the yet-to-be-named alligator and the purple piggy bank. So far, he’s just the desk bouncer.

  12. November 21, 2008 at 12:43 pm

    TW: Oh no you din’nt.

    Yes, I did πŸ™‚ As Chris Rock put it, “Yeah, I said it. It had to be said.”

    Leave my sleeper cell camel out of this!

    I think you just came up with a name for your camel: you can call him Sleeper, or Sleepy for short… After, it beats the heck out of Sopwith…

    He’s standing watch over the yet-to-be-named alligator

    The UF mascot’s name is Al Gator…

    and the purple piggy bank.

    Ask Cookie for help there, as naming cubicle pigs is her specialty, even though it was a cubicle pig who ratted out her identity to me (you can ask her about that too :))

    TW

  13. 13 Another Paige
    November 21, 2008 at 12:48 pm

    If he’s excreting thumb tacks, you might wanna take him to the vet… Cause you know that can’t feel good.

  14. November 21, 2008 at 4:13 pm

    TIME OUT PEOPLE!!! I’m protector of said camel (Humperdink) and he is not a terrorist! He arrived at gowdub’s cube at my request! Though I’m with Paige. If he’s dropping dueces filled w/ pushpins, he needs to go to the vet. ;-( Send me the bill.

  15. 15 girlofwords
    November 21, 2008 at 4:43 pm

    He’s not dropping thumbtack biscuits. Those were on the desk before he showed up. He seems to be resting comfortably, though I notice he’s moved to a more aggressive position over the yet-to-be-named alligator. If I were that ‘gator, I’d be nervous.

  16. November 21, 2008 at 5:01 pm

    That’s right– Humperdink has special powers. πŸ˜‰


Leave a Reply

Like it? Subscribe!

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Top Clicks

  • None

The Stat Sheet

  • 34,507 people have read me!

On Demand

Listen to back episodes of our hit show, "Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends" by subscribing to the feed. New episodes every Sunday night at 9 p.m. exclusively on TalkRadioX.

Subscribe to Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends


Powered by FeedBurner


