18
Nov
08

i can’t give it away

I have seriously tried to give this to everybody in this room, and nobody wants it.

Never in my life have I ever been around a journalist who refuses free liquor. Now, more than 20 have refused “Domaine de Canton,” which is labeled as “French ginger liqueur.”

It even came with a recipe book. But once the bottle was cracked and people actually sniffed, it was over.

So now, it just sits on my desk in its pretty bottle. Good marketing, you know? It’s very pretty. And I’ll even admit that some of the recipes in the accompanying book don’t look bad at all. I’d be willing to cook with it, but I do feel pretty confident that ANYTHING you mixed this with would be immediately overpowered by ginger.

But if ginger’s your thing, party on. I got a whole bottle with your name on it.

10 Responses to “i can’t give it away”


  1. 1 Ann
    November 18, 2008 at 4:44 pm

    Who needs that much ginger?
    Blech.
    I think somebody’s trying to be the next pomegranate.

  2. 2 girlofwords
    November 18, 2008 at 4:50 pm

    I can’t imagine how you could just DRINK this. Like I said, I don’t think it would suck to cook with it, but drinking it? That thought gives me goosebumps.

  3. November 18, 2008 at 10:22 pm

    I could dare the kid in college who used to drink 99 Bananas/Rumple Minze/Baileys/Corn whiskey suicides to drink it. He’s still kicking.

  4. November 19, 2008 at 9:32 am

    I hate to be the odd ball, but I think it’d be pretty good. As with most Liqueurs, it’s not meant to be consumed straight up, but mmmm ginger spiced latte sounds really good right about now. 😉

  5. 5 Rene VanCamp
    November 19, 2008 at 11:01 am

    the hang tag has some recipes and all are good – I don’t like it straight but it’s acutally a very “mixable” product – how did you come accross it?

  6. 6 girlofwords
    November 19, 2008 at 11:13 am

    Paige: GROSS.

    Erin: That’s the thing … I think if I were someone who LIKED ginger, this would be fine. And really, the book that came with it — I don’t care what you coat filet mignon in, I’ll eat it. I could cook with this, but I couldn’t imagine putting it in anything I drink. I’ll save this, then, for the TW-Erin Victory Tour.

    Rene: It came to me in the mail. I was surprised to see a huge bottle like this just show up.

  7. November 19, 2008 at 9:32 pm

    Give me a job where people send me liquor in the mail…

  8. November 20, 2008 at 12:33 am

    Good Point, OP ™ 😉

  9. November 24, 2008 at 11:58 am

    I’ll save this, then, for the TW-Erin Victory Tour.

    Will we be required to get jheri curls like the Jacksons in ’84? 🙂

    TW

  10. 10 girlofwords
    November 24, 2008 at 12:27 pm

    Jheri curls are optional. Fun is not. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Like it? Subscribe!

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Top Clicks

  • None

The Stat Sheet

  • 34,507 people have read me!

On Demand

Listen to back episodes of our hit show, "Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends" by subscribing to the feed. New episodes every Sunday night at 9 p.m. exclusively on TalkRadioX.

Subscribe to Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends


Powered by FeedBurner


