13
Nov
08

i

Today’s edition of “I ❤ the ’80s” is dedicated to my friend Eric. After a few months, Eric and I had the chance to catch up a little today over IM. We talked about work (both of us in are newspapers), friends from 10 years ago (where are they now?), some of the craziness he saw when he tried to vote in New York City. Eventually, the conversation got around to him asking, “So, are you happy in DC? Is this what you thought it would be?”

I paused for a minute before I answered.

“No, it’s really not. But that’s not a bad thing. This certainly is as far from where I thought I’d be at this stage in my life as it could be.”

I love:

  • The oddly uncertain energy in the air here. It doesn’t really feel calm to me. I like chaos.
  • My job. I love what I do. I’m having a great, great time doing it. I’m starting to feel like I’m growing into it, I’m making friends, I’m learning more every day.
  • WTOP. Sure, it’s no 1010 WINS, but for our nation’s capital, it’ll do just fine.
  • Having that 45 minutes at the end of the day to be alone in my thoughts on the train. It’s a good way to shake off the work day so I don’t bring it home with me.
  • The future. Who knows what it holds here. That’s what’s exciting. For the first time in many, many years, I feel like I don’t know what’s coming next and it’s actually put a little spring in my step.
  • I don’t love:

  • Honking. Seriously, people. Honking all the time. I promise you nothing has ever happened faster because you lay on the horn. Trust me on this one.
  • Everything costing twice as much as it did at home. That’s mostly because I’m cheap.
  • Four words: Fourth floor walk up.
  • How much I miss my family and friends from back home. I always said Charleston I could live without. It was the people IN Charleston that made it tolerable to me.
  • Maryland taxes … on everything.
  • All in all, I don’t know what I was expecting when I made a snap decision with absolutely no forethought that sure, I’d pack up the only life I’d ever known to carve out a brand new life in a place that twice as many people in the metro area than my entire state had. But now that it’s been almost six months since I made the jump, I’m happy I did. Even if my time in Washington is short-lived, I’ll always look back on how much I learned and grew during this time and how thankful I should be that I had this once in a lifetime chance to see what I could do here. I could have taken the easy way out and been afraid and happy in complacency, but I decided to hell with being satisfied with “just enough.”

    I did it. And some days, I’m actually good at it. And some days, it feels like it’s the same as it ever was.

    4 Responses to “i”


    1. November 16, 2008 at 10:59 pm

      “how did i get here?” well, at least you know the questions to ask yourself …

      you are still missed, even though we know the slingshot is only just getting loaded. we’ll keep following your trajectory, though. and we’ll sigh.

    2. 2 girlofwords
      November 16, 2008 at 11:29 pm

      aww. Thank you so much. That’s so sweet. That’s so sweet of you. 🙂

    3. November 24, 2008 at 11:55 am

      And at least you avoided the complacency that the song talks about. It’s so much easier to go with the flow, so it’s always admirable when somebody swims against the current…

      TW

    4. 4 girlofwords
      November 24, 2008 at 12:28 pm

      Jacque Jo: Swimming against the current since Feb. 11, 1979.


    Leave a Reply

        Like it? Subscribe!

    November 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930

    Top Clicks

    • None

    The Stat Sheet

    • 34,564 people have read me!

    On Demand

    Listen to back episodes of our hit show, "Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends" by subscribing to the feed. New episodes every Sunday night at 9 p.m. exclusively on TalkRadioX.

    Subscribe to Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends


    Powered by FeedBurner


