04
Nov
08

jacque goes to Monday Night Football

Here are some (questionable quality) BlackBerry pics from last night’s Pittsburgh Steelers-Washington Redskins beatdown on their home field before a nationally televised primetime audience. This was my first Monday Night Football game and it was a great one for me — it helps when your team is the ass kickor, and not the ass kickee.

Ah, FedEx Field. Ye lack personality.

Ah, FedEx Field. Ye lack personality.

Waiting to enter the ol' D Gate. More Steelers fans than Redskins fans, oddly.

Waiting to enter the ol' D Gate. More Steelers fans than Redskins fans, oddly.

There's something to love about an NFL team with a marching band.

There's something to love about an NFL team with a marching band.

One of the end zones. Almost to kickoff!

One of the end zones. Almost to kickoff!

This one's for Sweet Ann.

This one's for Sweet Ann.

The beginning of the Redskins end.

The beginning of the Redskins end.

... Ow.

... Ow.

By that time, only Steelers fans were in the house.

By that time, only Steelers fans were in the house.

A long, long night by the time I walked all the way back to the Metro and got to Largo Town Center and then on the Beltway back to the College Park, but well worth all of it. It was probably close to 2 a.m. by the time I actually got to sleep. I’m feeling it this morning.

9 Responses to “jacque goes to Monday Night Football”


  1. November 4, 2008 at 4:31 pm

    Are you familiar with the theory that the outcome of the last Redskins game before a presidential election is a predictor of the election? The theory is that a Redskin victory signifies that the incumbent party will retain the White House; a loss would signify four years of adding new words to the B-Dub drinking game 🙂

    TW

  2. 2 girlofwords
    November 4, 2008 at 5:01 pm

    🙂 Yeah, I think it failed in 2004. I could be wrong about that … I think in 2004 the opposing team won against the Redskins, but Bush won anyway.

    So far, a relatively quiet day here in our nation’s capital. Tomorrow? Woof.

  3. 3 Ann
    November 4, 2008 at 8:04 pm

    Thank you!! 🙂

  4. November 4, 2008 at 9:03 pm

    Seems TW is looking for hope to cling to!

    Don’t stop…belieeeeevin…

  5. November 5, 2008 at 1:35 am

    Oh, Paige; I still love you no matter how you voted 🙂 As for me, this Jamaican immigrant became a citizen in June with the hope of being able to vote in this election. And in my first election ever, I was able to volunteer and vote for the first black President of the United States. So yeah, I won’t stop believing. And can we look forward to adding laundry lists of new words to the B-Dub drinking game? Yes, we can 🙂

    TW (AKA Sheldon I. Robertson)

  6. 6 Joe
    November 10, 2008 at 11:47 am

    Jacque goes to MNF, but includes no pics of her self. What the feck??

  7. 7 girlofwords
    November 12, 2008 at 12:36 pm

    I know, it occurred to me that there are NO pictures of ME at this game. I think it’s because it just didn’t cross my mind to take one. Now, the girl I went with took a pic of us, so she may have it!

  8. November 27, 2008 at 11:26 pm

    I think you nailed it on the head!! That\’s the point that everyone here has failed to make, nice work!! I am going to place a link to you on my blogroll, ok?

  9. November 28, 2008 at 12:01 pm

    … I didn’t realize posting pictures of Monday Night Football was such a monumental topic that I COULD nail it on the head and everybody else wouldn’t get it. But thanks!


Leave a Reply

Like it? Subscribe!

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Top Clicks

  • None

The Stat Sheet

  • 34,563 people have read me!

On Demand

Listen to back episodes of our hit show, "Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends" by subscribing to the feed. New episodes every Sunday night at 9 p.m. exclusively on TalkRadioX.

Subscribe to Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends


Powered by FeedBurner


