30
Oct
08

lugging luggage

I’ve noticed this disturbing trend lately of what seems to be people taking more and more luggage to work. I have a backpack and a purse and that’s too much for me some days, but as I rode into town this morning, the guy who got on the train at College Park sat down beside me (in a business suit) with what looked very similar to what you see above. I can’t imagine having to carry that much stuff around. I really don’t get it. And it’s not just him. I’m seeing it everywhere now. It’s almost as if I’m vastly uncool that I’m NOT carrying around 15 pounds of luggage to go to work.

Maybe if I worked harder, I’d have luggage.

18 Responses to “lugging luggage”


  1. October 30, 2008 at 11:27 am

    Unfortunately, I’m with the luggage-toting set. (Though not all the time.) There are times when I have lofty expectations of taking my laptop and a box of files home to work on. Legal Binders and other various objects do not fit so well in a bag. ;-( I’m trying to cut back on working from home, but it’s hard.

  2. 2 girlofwords
    October 30, 2008 at 11:32 am

    I’m just amazed. I mean, I thought my job was challenging, but then I see things like that and realize that I’m doing kid’s work.

  3. October 30, 2008 at 2:09 pm

    you’re too funny. Trust me, it’s not cool to have the “big bag” full of work. It just means I can’t effectively manage my time. 😉

  4. 4 girlofwords
    October 30, 2008 at 2:35 pm

    Yeah, the thing with my job is not much CAN be done at home. I mean, I can’t take the press along. 🙂

  5. 5 Ann
    October 30, 2008 at 3:38 pm

    Wow.
    I just went to my mom and dad’s overnight FOR work, and took a shoulder bag with my lappy and a notepad, my normal-sized purse, and an oversized bag my mom might call a purse.
    I think people are just trying to look like they work hard.
    Or they’re homeless, like Will Smith in the Pursuit of Happyness.

  6. 6 Another Paige
    October 30, 2008 at 8:52 pm

    I take nothing to or from work… which kinda speaks to the importance of my job…

  7. 7 girlofwords
    October 30, 2008 at 8:54 pm

    I have the backpack mostly because I’m really just an overgrown kid and I need distractions on the train. I mean, I do have it though for books and things and my calendar/planner. But I could theoretically survive without.

  8. October 31, 2008 at 5:22 pm

    They’re probably just government pukes, or poseurs laboring under the impression that government pukes are actually important people, which most of us are not. You should see the crap I lug home “just in case”. Still I couldn’t imagine doing it on the train.

  9. October 31, 2008 at 5:29 pm

    I am laughing out loud at “The Original Paige(tm)” 🙂 We’ve got miles and miles of Paiges available in all colors and patterns!

    You’re not a goverment puke, though. You have a lot of “just in case” in your line. But you should see some of the luggage luggers who don’t at all look like they’re doing really intense work. Maybe they’re carrying bodies. Or weed. Bricks and bricks of weed.

  10. October 31, 2008 at 8:56 pm

    It’s the abortion protesters with their cache of bloody baby dolls.

  11. November 1, 2008 at 8:14 pm

    my backpack contains power cords, old newspapers, a reporter’s notebook, pens and a wine corkscrew — just in case. usually, i open it just to transfer dishes and mugs from the office to home so they can be washed. i’m not an important man.

  12. 12 Another Paige
    November 2, 2008 at 12:47 am

    I must give props to the “original Paige”… Damn I wish I had thought of that… Here I am just “another Paige”…

  13. 14 Another Paige
    November 2, 2008 at 2:12 pm

    D’oh… That doesn’t bode well for me then!
    I’ve actually only met one other Paige in my age bracket so I was rather surprised!

  14. 15 girlofwords
    November 2, 2008 at 2:30 pm

    Yeah, you are the only two Paiges I know! I like to keep an exclusive group. 🙂 Both of you, also, rock far more than average people.

    Philip … if you’ve got an extra corkscrew laying around, I know a house in ned of one. Lord. I just need to get to Target.

  15. 16 Another Paige
    November 2, 2008 at 2:54 pm

    Why thank you! Really love the blog! And it comes in handy on days like today when I’m procrastinating instead of working on my thesis proposal!
    And to think I may not have found this blog if it weren’t for the blog on ham and domestic violence! LOL

  16. 17 girlofwords
    November 2, 2008 at 3:05 pm

    Awww. 🙂 Thanks! Leave it to me to draw people in with beating a woman with ham! I wouldn’t have it any other way.

  17. 18 Another Paige
    November 2, 2008 at 3:30 pm

    Just for the record, he maintains his innocence. Or at least he did when I visited him in jail! LOL


Leave a Reply

Like it? Subscribe!

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

The Stat Sheet

  • 34,514 people have read me!

On Demand

Listen to back episodes of our hit show, "Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends" by subscribing to the feed. New episodes every Sunday night at 9 p.m. exclusively on TalkRadioX.

Subscribe to Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends


Powered by FeedBurner


