27
Oct
08

the results: you hate complainers

In the inaugural Monday Morning Poll, which asked readers, “What is the most annoying characteristic in a co-worker?” here are the results:

The “Perpetual Sick Day” co-worker: 0 percent
The “I talk on the phone so everybody can hear me” co-worker: 27 percent
The “I don’t believe in sick days” co-worker: 0 percent
The “I’m a giant suck-up” co-worker: 18 percent
The “I loudly complain all of the time” co-worker: 55 percent

This shows … you hate complainers. I didn’t pick that one, though. I picked “I talk on the phone so everybody can hear me.” I worked with a guy like that a few jobs back. He had an unbalanced wife and she’d call him in the mornings on her way to work, inevitably in the throes of some giant crisis, and he’d have to spend 20 minutes assuaging her concerns about her body shape, beauty, fitness to parent animals, etc. It was really distracting and strange. Just … strange.

The new poll is up! This week, I ask you: Do you think it’s the government’s job to be in the business of marriage? I ask this because of some fluff going on back home from a “family values” organization demanding West Virginia’s legislature call a special session making gay marriage illegal. Yeah, good call. ‘Cause that’s why West Virginia’s falling apart. Those tricky gays. They ruin it for everybody.

7 Responses to “the results: you hate complainers”


  1. 1 Ann
    October 27, 2008 at 2:12 pm

    You made me snicker aloud.
    I tell ya, in my sometimes-scary ghetto, I’m more than grateful for the two gentlemen across the street from me.
    I don’t know either’s name. I call both “neighbor,” as in “hey, neighbor,” or “how’s it goin, neighbor?” and I’m extremely grateful for their meticulously-kept home and yard, which makes my whole street less ghetto. And if I see blue lights, I peek out to make sure neighbor is out there peeking too. Just makes me feel better.

  2. 2 Another Paige
    October 27, 2008 at 7:56 pm

    I have to stick with my ex-husband’s statement on gay marriage. He thinks it should be totally legal cause EVERYONE should have equal opportunity to be miserable. Our marriage was obviously lovely!

  3. 3 girlofwords
    October 27, 2008 at 8:11 pm

    That’s what I’m saying — I’m for everybody having equal opportunity to ruin their lives.

  4. 4 Another Paige
    October 27, 2008 at 8:29 pm

    And, while I’m at it, I also had a co-worker exactly like that! With a wife exactly like that! LOL

  5. October 27, 2008 at 8:33 pm

    I’m telling you, it was strange. I’ve had my share of crises, but this woman had a crisis of epic proportion EVERY morning. And it was really, really strange. It was never like “I wrapped the car around a tree.” It was like “I think we’re out of stamps.”

  6. 6 Another Paige
    October 27, 2008 at 9:02 pm

    I kinda liked it. Made me feel like such a competent, well adjusted woman…

  7. 7 girlofwords
    October 27, 2008 at 9:22 pm

    Yeah, exactly. Like, I felt better about my abilities to handle things that were far less nuclear.


Leave a Reply

Like it? Subscribe!

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

The Stat Sheet

  • 34,517 people have read me!

On Demand

Listen to back episodes of our hit show, "Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends" by subscribing to the feed. New episodes every Sunday night at 9 p.m. exclusively on TalkRadioX.

Subscribe to Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends


Powered by FeedBurner


