21
Oct
08

cash only at the waffle house

Not since the likes of Kid Rock have we seen a rebel like this one …

Fla. woman chooses to go to jail over $7.45 bill

I mean, I’m not a genius. I wouldn’t even call myself “really intelligent.” I’m just putting this out here … Is the pokey worth taking a stand at a Waffle House? It was $7.45. And your expectations couldn’t have been that high to begin with. I mean, really. Is the kind of crap you get at Waffle House worth 60 days in the pokey if you decide you’re not paying for it?

15 Responses to “cash only at the waffle house”


  1. October 21, 2008 at 3:33 pm

    Look at you quoting my hometown rag 🙂 But Cookie would be irritated that the reporter never said anything about why the woman refused to pay i.e. bad food, no money, what?

    TW

  2. 2 girlofwords
    October 21, 2008 at 3:35 pm

    No, that irritates me, too. Obviously, there was some reason she didn’t want to pay for it. If it was just capricious, “Hey, I’m not paying” that’s one thing. If it was a sandwich covered in mold and 15-hour coffee, that’s another!!

  3. October 21, 2008 at 4:13 pm

    Man, I dunno, Jac…have you had the pecan waffles? They’re pretty much worth going to jail over.

  4. 4 girlofwords
    October 21, 2008 at 4:20 pm

    No, I think the last thing I had at the Waffle House, and it was the Covington, Ky., Awful Waffle at 4 a.m. with an armed policeman as the maitre d’ was just the standard issue waffle combo. I don’t think I ate much of it. I barely remember being there.

  5. October 21, 2008 at 4:48 pm

    Cookie loves to point out news items where the Post coverage is inadequate compared to that its Fort Lauderdale competitor, The Sun-Sentinel. But Fort Pierce is too far north for the Sun-Sentinel to be concerned with, so other than whatever the local rag is in that town, the only coverage is gonna be from the Post, and you can see what kind of job they did 🙂

    TW

  6. October 21, 2008 at 5:11 pm

    Yeah… What the hell is up with not explaining why? I’m not a reporter/journalist and even I know this!
    I love the awful waffle nickname. Waffle House, IHOP, White Castle, and Denny’s are restaurants I try not to frequent. At least while sober, that is.

  7. 7 girlofwords
    October 21, 2008 at 5:12 pm

    TW, this is your assignment. Call the Cookie and find out what’s going on. Why would someone NOT pay for their chow at the Awful Waffle.

  8. October 21, 2008 at 5:34 pm

    I’ll certainly bring it to Cookie’s attention, since she’ll love the multi-level goofiness, but I don’t know how many people she still knows there, as there was a recent buyout that has dang near decimated the ranks. But she would definitely be interested in this, so I’ll clue her in… Also, I can do some ace reporting myself, by checking my paper in the morning to see if there are somehow more updates to this “breaking” story (But I’m starting to think I need to cut back my subscription to the days when Bill Meredith is in the paper :))

    TW

  9. 9 girlofwords
    October 21, 2008 at 5:39 pm

    Yeah … I mean, how awesome is it that some old lady’s about to go to the slammer for six months (possibly) over a $7-some Awful Waffle bill.

    Again, this isn’t the Ritz Carlton. Shouldn’t you expect to be let down at an Awful Waffle?!

  10. 10 thecookie
    October 21, 2008 at 6:22 pm

    My guess as to the why of it all … you just can’t get a good cavity search unless you go through the booking process anymore!

    Nothing goes better with some scatterd, smothered, covered, chopped and diced action than a little jailhouse bend and grab!

    GOOD TIMES!!

  11. 11 girlofwords
    October 21, 2008 at 6:27 pm

    You win. 🙂

  12. October 22, 2008 at 12:56 am

    Bad Cookie. No, um, cookie for you 🙂

    TW AKA The Oreo

  13. October 25, 2008 at 4:17 pm

    Perhaps she was hoping to share a cell with Kid Rock.

  14. October 27, 2008 at 9:51 am

    I fill up at a gas station right next to this Waffle House when I visit my mother. I make sure never to fill up at the Waffle House though.


Leave a Reply

Like it? Subscribe!

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

The Stat Sheet

  • 34,524 people have read me!

On Demand

Listen to back episodes of our hit show, "Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends" by subscribing to the feed. New episodes every Sunday night at 9 p.m. exclusively on TalkRadioX.

Subscribe to Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends


Powered by FeedBurner


