09
Oct
08

that god … he’s a jokester!

(Photo by Tom Hindman — Charleston Daily Mail)

God has a funny way of getting even with people sometimes. Like in Kanawha County, W.Va. In Kanawha County, they passed a countywide smoking ban in bars and people freaked out, including this bar abve, the Black Hawk Saloon.

Now, in the interest of full disclosure, I’m against governmental-type smoking bans. If you own a bar and you want to open the bar as a nonsmoking bar, that’s your choice. In fact, I’ll probably go to your bar more than I’d go to the other guy’s. However, when nonelected boards of people start making nanny state decisions about my health, I get a little annoyed. I’m a grownup. I know what’s going to happen to me in that bar. If you want people to smoke in your bar, awesome. That’s your right as a business owner. I support your right to choose. I also support my right to not go to your bar.

(But that’s another lengthy discussion … one that would likely harken back to my dark, dark and entirely evil affiliation with The Center for Consumer Freedom. You can scroll through the archives to learn more about that one.)

However, in scrolling through the headlines back home today, I came across this gem.

Bar that defied smoking ban damaged in blaze

Doh. This bar was one of the most vocal critics of the smoking ban in Kanawha County and openly let people smoke in there. The fact that they went up in smoke is just one of the most cruel coincidences I’ve ever seen. That God. He knows how to have a good laugh.

6 Responses to “that god … he’s a jokester!”


  1. October 9, 2008 at 2:12 pm

    Interesting take on this GoDub. Never thought of it that way. Ohio is also smoke free, and eventhough I am for all intense purposes a smoker, I love being in a smoke free environment. Fundamentally, I see your point about government control, but I kinda like this law. I don’t even smoke in my own home or in my car as the smell of stale smoke is putrid. But yeah, to openly flaunt your disagreement with the law and then have your place burned down is classic. What’s even more impressive is that West Virginians collectively passed this law…

  2. 2 girlofwords
    October 9, 2008 at 2:18 pm

    Yeah, it’s like I said … I LOVE the smoking ban as a bar visitor. I hate the smoking ban as a matter of principle. Charleston had a smoke-free bar and once it opened, we never went anywhere else.

    I’m a huge believer in letting the market take care of itself. 🙂

  3. October 9, 2008 at 9:27 pm

    Is this the segue point for a discussion of the bailout? 🙂

    TW

  4. 4 girlofwords
    October 10, 2008 at 11:12 am

    Don’t even get me started about the bailout. It’s too early. I’m not medicated.

  5. October 10, 2008 at 11:23 am

    I hear what I think I hear you saying, but I don’t know what the alternative would be. I made the mistake of looking at an old 401(K) account of mine yesterday, and it’s lost a quarter of its value this year. Between banks folding and global stock markets plunging, there aren’t many safe havens for your money any more. My retirement plan now is to fight Inky for the Fancy Feast…

    TW

  6. 6 girlofwords
    October 10, 2008 at 3:03 pm

    Yeah, I know. Last night I was telling B-Dub how thankful I was that we pulled the cash out of my (modest) retirement when we did. It wasn’t our most appealing option to help in the pinch, but it was what we needed to do. Now … wow. Now, thankfully, I listened to the voice that said, “Go ahead.”


Leave a Reply

Like it? Subscribe!

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

The Stat Sheet

  • 34,507 people have read me!

On Demand

Listen to back episodes of our hit show, "Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends" by subscribing to the feed. New episodes every Sunday night at 9 p.m. exclusively on TalkRadioX.

Subscribe to Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends


Powered by FeedBurner


