06
Oct
08

i’ve seen the future

Natalie Dee
nataliedee.com

This … is likely going to be me when I reach old age.

Animal shelter takes in 86 cats seized from Battlement Mesa residence

I know how this starts. You have two. Then you figure, “Well, three wouldn’t be much more work than two,” and then, “Well, now that I’ve got three, four’s just gravy,” and then “Well, six would be good because it’s an even number,” and then the next thing you realize, you’re 14 cats away from the Century Club.

6 Responses to “i’ve seen the future”


  1. October 7, 2008 at 8:18 am

    This reminds me of the dear friend we share. She onced voiced that she pictured herself at 37 years old alone and surrounded by cats. It was hilarious b/c 37 isn’t “old” and I’m pretty sure she doesn’t like cats?

    This is shocking to me. As an owner of 1 cat who does a bang up job of dismantling my apartment, I could not even fathom 86. The smell of cat litter would be enough to drive me out of the house. Hoy!

    and somehow, I don’t see “obsessive cat lady” in your future… 😉

  2. 2 Richard Whackman
    October 7, 2008 at 2:06 pm

    This role is already being played quite well by the bag lady character on The Simpsons. I take it you don’t have any alergy to cats. BTW I’ll have to remember to use “century club” when I want to say 100 with style. That’s a good one.

  3. 3 girlofwords
    October 7, 2008 at 2:16 pm

    Erin: Yes! I remember that. And it was funny because she doesn’t hate cats, but she’s not particularly fond of them either.

    Richard: Haha! I love that character. No, I’m not allergic. I’ve got two of them at home. Their pictures are under the link “The Management” at the top of the page. 🙂

    Yes, “Century Club” is one of my favorites. 🙂

  4. October 9, 2008 at 9:29 pm

    “I’ve seen the future, babe, and it will be
    I’ve seen the future and it works”

    — Prince
    “The Future”
    Batman soundtrack

  5. 5 girlofwords
    October 10, 2008 at 11:09 am

    Oh, man. Thanks. Now’s that’s LODGED in my head.

  6. October 15, 2008 at 11:05 pm

    Hey, if you’re gonna get a song stuck in your head, it might as well be Prince, right? 🙂

    TW


Leave a Reply

Like it? Subscribe!

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

The Stat Sheet

  • 34,507 people have read me!

On Demand

Listen to back episodes of our hit show, "Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends" by subscribing to the feed. New episodes every Sunday night at 9 p.m. exclusively on TalkRadioX.

Subscribe to Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends


Powered by FeedBurner


