06
Oct
08

because I’m in a creative drought

I direct your attention to this post from today’s FamousDC:

Craigslist Post of the Day

If I didn’t have a day job, I’d be all over this. I’d be there every single day for two weeks. Every single day!!

15 Responses to “because I’m in a creative drought”


  1. 1 Richard Whackman
    October 6, 2008 at 4:38 pm

    I thought people did stuff like that for free, just for the fun of it. You know – revolution for the hell of it or something.

    Oh, what we’d all do if it wasn’t for our jobs. There’s a gigantic stamp with the word “free” on it my city (I’m not joking) and when this sculpture was first erected, a friend of mine came up with the idea of going around town with a big “free” mask and spraypainting the word on the sides of various buildings, as though some giant had picked up the stamp and went around using it. Again, it was my employment (and the desire to avoid an arrest record) that prevented me from saying, “Great idea! Let’s do it”.

  2. October 6, 2008 at 4:46 pm

    I would pay my own airfare to come up and do this. I used to love Yogi’s obsession with pic-a-nic baskets…

    TW

  3. 3 Ann
    October 6, 2008 at 4:50 pm

    Oh my gosh. I want to take vacation time to do this.
    Maybe I’m the stupid one, but I think I’m more wily than this guy.

    I wonder if the bear biologist approves.

  4. 4 girlofwords
    October 6, 2008 at 4:55 pm

    Richard: Hey, I’d do it for free. They wouldn’t even have to pay me to do something like this. In fact, before I get on the Metro to go home tonight, I just may try to pull something like this in McPherson Square, so if you’re in the city around 7 p.m, look for the unruly short-haired redhead.

    TW: If you fly, you have a place to stay in Maryland if you can take crashing with someone who’s looking to better deal me for Sarah Palin.

    Ann: I KNOW you’re more wily than this guy. Easily!

  5. October 7, 2008 at 12:23 am

    GoDub, next time I come to MD, I hope to gate-crash Happy Hour. You guys always sound like you’re having a blast. Even if I have to sit as quiet as a mouse in the corner, I would still dig it. (And as a musician who’s been in recording situations, I know about the sitting-quiet thing.)

    TW

  6. October 7, 2008 at 1:48 am

    Outstanding. Speaking of jobs and vacations, I wonder what this dude does for a living that allows him to have two free weeks to work on his ninja skills with $500 potential in prize money to give away. Oh, the price of stealth…..

  7. October 7, 2008 at 9:43 am

    This is like something out of the Pink Panther movies, when Inspector Clousseau would tell his assistant Cato to strike without warning in order to keep his reflexes up. Of course, Cato would only choose to do so when Clousseau had brought a woman home 🙂

    TW

  8. October 7, 2008 at 9:44 am

    You know godub, I think I have more friends in the DC area than I do back in my hometown. I really should visit– And I’ll videotape you guys w/ your picnic baskets as I’m sure it would be hilarious. It reminds me of the Thomas Crown Affair and the bowler hats. 😉
    As for crashing happy hour studios, I think inky and walter would have something to say about that… 😉

  9. 9 girlofwords
    October 7, 2008 at 12:03 pm

    Cale: I’ve wondered that. There are a LOT of people in Washington who are here, but I’m not sure exactly what it is they do to make money . Maybe it’s best I don’t know. 🙂

    Erin and TW: OK, we must start working on setting up some reunion tour in DC in the next months.

  10. October 7, 2008 at 2:17 pm

    I have counter-insurgency tactics for the PETA sleeper cell known as Inky and Walter. You know, they hate us for our freedom — and our ability to operate a can opener…

    TW

  11. 11 girlofwords
    October 7, 2008 at 2:21 pm

    I trust Walter. It’s Inky I worry about … she’s the one with the ability to do stealth ninja rolls.

  12. October 8, 2008 at 3:45 pm

    You have reason to worry. The Feds have a file on Inky that’s an inch thick. They keep her under constant surveillance (e.g. those sparrows outside your apt. are really canaries, if you know what I mean)

    As for a D.C. rendezvous, if it’s all right with Mags, it’s all right with me 🙂 I actually have a good friend from college who lives in Takoma Park, so I have all kind of reasons to be in that part of the world…

    TW

  13. 13 girlofwords
    October 8, 2008 at 4:40 pm

    Ah, Takoma Park. The Metro stop I ended up at when I zoned out, came to and realized that my Metro stop didn’t have a 7-Eleven outside, so I was definitely lost.

  14. October 10, 2008 at 11:09 am

    The only problem I would have with Mags is not allowing her to come! DC is about 6 hrs from here, and I literally have an army of friends in the area. The unfortunate problem is that none of them are friens with eachother! Tell me when and I’ll make it happen.

  15. 15 girlofwords
    October 10, 2008 at 11:11 am

    I’m thinking the decks will be cleared in the home of Second Team Productions by the end of November. I hope. Gah. Should be.

    We have to clean up the studio. We have a lot to clean, actually.


Leave a Reply

Like it? Subscribe!

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

The Stat Sheet

  • 34,507 people have read me!

On Demand

Listen to back episodes of our hit show, "Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends" by subscribing to the feed. New episodes every Sunday night at 9 p.m. exclusively on TalkRadioX.

Subscribe to Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends


Powered by FeedBurner


