29
Sep
08

i

This is among the first videos I can remember seeing on MTV. When I was growing up, my hometown didn’t have cable to speak of, but my aunt and uncle had a satellite … and teenage sons. I’d spend my summertime afternoons at their house swimming in the pool, putting on plays we’d write for each other and watching MTV. I remember this video and the first time I saw it like it was this morning. I can smell the chlorine from the swimming pool and the goosebumps from coming into the air conditioner.

This is just a fun song, too. There’s nothing you can’t love about this one.

4 Responses to “i”


  1. September 29, 2008 at 11:05 pm

    This song reminds me of being holed up for a weekend in a cabin at oglebay. The weather was awful and my bother and I sat in our room listening to this tape 🙂

  2. September 30, 2008 at 9:51 am

    I never understood why this took place in “Mississippi 1870”.

  3. 3 girlofwords
    September 30, 2008 at 9:59 am

    I just spent 10 minutes trying to find a reference anywhere on the Interwebs about WHY this is Mississippi 1870, and I couldn’t find something really solid. This may become a project for me.

  4. October 1, 2008 at 10:44 am

    I think they just wanted to set the video in the Mark Twain era so they could have riverboat gambling, ruffly outfits etc. Also, 1870 was five years after Emancipation and the end of the Civil Wars, so they would sidestep the issues of cannon fire and shackles for Culture Club’s bass player 🙂

    TW
    p.s. I liked some Culture Club songs, but this wasn’t one of them, so 1984 was a very long year for me 🙂


Leave a Reply

Like it? Subscribe!

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Top Clicks

  • None

The Stat Sheet

  • 34,564 people have read me!

On Demand

Listen to back episodes of our hit show, "Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends" by subscribing to the feed. New episodes every Sunday night at 9 p.m. exclusively on TalkRadioX.

Subscribe to Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends


Powered by FeedBurner


