18
Sep
08

if i’d only known: epic fail

Intrepid journalist Sweet Ann pointed this out to me, and I had to post the followup.

As I posted just this morning, an image appearing on the Web site of Russ Weeks, a republican running for governor in West Virginia.

Here is an image from the West Virginia Department of Tourism’s Web site for their “Where in the State is Governor Manchin”:

Uh oh … wait. Hang on. Something’s …

Ohhhh craaaaaaap. …

Now, I’m no campaign adviser. I’m not any good at politics. However, even I would have advised against lifting a state image to make a slam-like handout to get people to vote for me.

Even if it’s the slam-like handout has a certain degree of truth to it, pardon the pun. *cough*

Verdict: Epic fail.

10 Responses to “if i’d only known: epic fail”


  1. 1 Economic Friction
    September 18, 2008 at 4:34 pm

    I hate to encourage Abernathy, though it’s awful to have to try to have a campaign that is fueled by Basic Lights and no money. But lifting public domain photos/art of elected officials is awesome & totally legal/kosher. Don’t even need to use the “satire” excuse to keep from being sued in this case.

    Way easier than following them with a camera crew and boom mic to Marmet.

  2. 2 girlofwords
    September 18, 2008 at 4:35 pm

    Nah, I get that it’s totally OK, but still … come ON.

  3. 3 girlofwords
    September 18, 2008 at 4:37 pm

    (as a side — I know someone who used to call him ‘Yasser Abernathy.’)

    They followed us through Marmet today, they followed us here. They follow us everywhere … LOOKING FOR UGLY.

  4. 4 Economic Friction
    September 18, 2008 at 4:38 pm

    I respect GA……he’s a man who loves his Frischs Big Boy.

    Like Arafat? Is that a gay slur, or something about wearing the table cloth from Lady & The Tramp? Advise.

  5. 5 girlofwords
    September 18, 2008 at 4:40 pm

    Who doesn’t love Big Boy? I love Big Boy. I wish we had one here. I can’t even get a Sonic. Though I did enjoy my first “volcano taco” last night from the Bell.

    The slur was definitely more to the “wearing the table cloth from Lady and the Tramp.” Back in the day at WVU, this guy had repeated bad experiences with him while trying to volunteer for the WVGOP.

  6. 6 girlofwords
    September 18, 2008 at 4:41 pm

    Side note: The Honz Man on KDKA right now … on fire. Playing Russian communist music. Like it. Liked it more the first time I heard it back in February when Glenn Beck did it.

  7. 7 Economic Friction
    September 18, 2008 at 6:59 pm

    In SW Ohio, it’s your duty to love Frischs and Skyline, former GCL students tell me. I rate them as BREAK GLASS ONLY WHEN DRUNK, like Perkins or IHOP. Graeters is the only deal there that really translates elsewhere.

    Much like Louganis, you can go several places with any Arafat jokes. Dennis Miller had the latter mastered 20 years ago.

    Happy Hour at Sonic lets me get a $1 giant blue beverage that seems like it would be popular with rappers.

  8. 8 girlofwords
    September 18, 2008 at 8:04 pm

    Do you prefer Skyline or Gold Star? I would probably beat someone to death right now for some Gold Star. It is one of those things, though, that when you eat it you never think, “I’m so glad I had Gold Star” when you’re done.

    Damn you and your easy access to Sonic.

  9. 9 Pat
    September 18, 2008 at 10:58 pm

    I’ve heard things about that University of Mojo. Only problem is I already have enough mojo of my own. Patriots fans have it naturally, unlike Colts fans.

  10. September 19, 2008 at 7:54 pm

    I say, you make your bed, now lie in it. I have an MBA that no one had to pull strings for me to get. Worse-case, it’s 18 college courses, so why all the effort to fake it then refuse to admit your wrongdoing later? Seems like fair game to me…

    TW


Leave a Reply

Like it? Subscribe!

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Top Clicks

  • None

The Stat Sheet

  • 34,507 people have read me!

On Demand

Listen to back episodes of our hit show, "Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends" by subscribing to the feed. New episodes every Sunday night at 9 p.m. exclusively on TalkRadioX.

Subscribe to Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends


Powered by FeedBurner


