16
Sep
08

my open letter follow up

Apparently, much like EF Hutton, when I talk … people listen.

You may remember Monday’s post about my experience at Organic to Go in McPherson Square. Basically, the guy behind the counter observed that I, Jacque Jo, in fact love delicious organic salad.

I never think when I float these things out here than anybody other than my closest friends and my Mom read this, but I was wrong.

Today, I got an e-mail from the PR firm that represents them in Washington apologizing to me for the guy at the counter. I have to give them mega praise for doing that. They didn’t have to do that. I mean, who the hell am I? Just some liberal conservative misfit who rants and likes the well-honed art of the open letter. I never thought anybody took it seriously.

However, this really nice girl I e-mailed back and forth with assured me they would work to better train their employees on how to behave, say, in a case like mine where the box is laden with lots of delicious organic vegetables to make an epic salad that is to be heartily enjoyed.

I assured her I would still be going to Organic to Go because well, it’s convenient, and it’s really just good. I know if I want salad, it’s there.

But more so, I think I learned a thing or two about “social media” and “Web 2.0” today, you know? Somehow, through the power of the Internets, someone reached out to address my complaint without me even asking anybody to address it. That’s kinda cool in a “wow, I have readers” sort of way.

5 Responses to “my open letter follow up”


  1. 1 Ann
    September 17, 2008 at 7:53 am

    That has nearly tipped me over the edge of creating “We Judge You” for Caroline and I to rant and rave.

  2. September 17, 2008 at 8:48 am

    Very cool Story. I just sent a link of it to Skip Lineberg who posted about a similar experience with Zappos. Here is a link:
    http://marketinggenius.blogspot.com/2008/09/zappos-truly-engaged-with-customers.html

    We are seeing more and more of this type of PR or company related monitoring that I think will be very valuable for those interested to better understand the consumer. Part of the focus of my practice is how be we bring more of this to health care where the patient is the consumer.

    Bob

  3. 3 girlofwords
    September 17, 2008 at 9:37 am

    I saw that on Skip’s blog! Isn’t it kind of amazing what people are able to do in terms of customer service now? I think little ol’ me was just impressed that someone took the time to see what I thought, write me about it to make sure they understood my concerns and told me they’d address them. To me, that just made me MORE of a customer of Organic to Go. If their management team cares that much, that’s the kind of place I want to visit and keep giving money. 🙂

    I would love to see you make strides on this in health care … I have plenty of horror stories and angry open letters I could write to doctors and hospitals.

    Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

  4. September 17, 2008 at 2:49 pm

    Jacque-

    Loved your post. I’m going to highlight your experience over at our Marketing Genius blog soon. Also, I will be adding you to our blogroll. Love your writing! Missing you back in WV-

    Skip

  5. 5 girlofwords
    September 17, 2008 at 3:30 pm

    Thanks so much, Skip. I’m honored that you’d include me on your blog! Thank you SO much. That’s so cool. 🙂

    I miss you guys too! I’ll make sure there’s ample heads up for my next visit. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Like it? Subscribe!

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Top Clicks

  • None

The Stat Sheet

  • 34,563 people have read me!

On Demand

Listen to back episodes of our hit show, "Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends" by subscribing to the feed. New episodes every Sunday night at 9 p.m. exclusively on TalkRadioX.

Subscribe to Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends


Powered by FeedBurner


