10
Sep
08

i’m still from west virginia

Today. 9 a.m. Red Line Metro. My station’s got probably no less than 20 armed-to-the-teeth police officers checking out individual cars with their guns out. It occurs to me this strikes me as odd. I learned that it’s just Sept. 11 precautions and I realized at that moment, though I may live in a city like this, I’m still from West Virginia. You don’t see people going around with guns out in West Virginia, unless, say, it’s following a huge football win or something of the like.

8 Responses to “i’m still from west virginia”


  1. September 10, 2008 at 3:02 pm

    This happened to me once while on a night train in France. A phsycho boarded the train and started shooting his pellet gun up in the air. When the train stopped, swarms of police w/ batons and guns and tear gas quickly exited us and apprehended him. It does cause you to freak out doesn’t it? Small town girl or not, it’s good your not so desensitized. It would be sad if you were.

  2. September 10, 2008 at 3:30 pm

    Incidently GoDub, I’m driving through your Home Land this Saturday– and will be back through again the following Saturday. Can’t wait for the WV turnpike, the signs for Tamarack every 3 miles, and the lovely Kanawha Valley… 😉 (it’s ALWAYS FOGGY and RAINY each time I’m in the Valley, darnit!)
    Too you’re not in chucktown anymore… I would have visited!

  3. 3 girlofwords
    September 10, 2008 at 4:08 pm

    Ah, Tamarack. West Virginia’s nicest rest stop. I’m bummed out though that I can’t meet you for some lunch or dinner or anything. I still think we should just show up in Philly. Ang won’t notice. We’ll sleep in the spare room.

    Yeah, it was really weird to see it. I figured it wasn’t anything really serious because they were letting us get on the train like nothing was really out of place … but only after they got on and scoped it out.

    But I guess you’re right. I’ve still got long to go before I’m desensitized. 🙂

  4. September 11, 2008 at 11:36 am

    And if is is a Friday Night High School game … better bring your body armor 🙂

    While I am not from WV … it is my home at the moment and I am very much so looking forward to the a week-end of Football … Go Pirates; Knights, Herd and Mountaineers! YIKES ….

  5. 5 girlofwords
    September 11, 2008 at 11:40 am

    Oh, wow. I’m sure they play high school football in Maryland, but it’s not the same. 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by, Julie! I’ve checked out your site. I admire your energy! You have the energy of 10 women.

  6. 6 Carissa
    September 11, 2008 at 12:02 pm

    It appears it will be foggy and rainy for Erin’s trip through the Valley this Saturday. Maybe next Saturday will be better. 🙂

  7. 7 girlofwords
    September 11, 2008 at 12:03 pm

    Aw, man. Well, at least it’s consistent with what she knows. 🙂

  8. September 11, 2008 at 12:36 pm

    Thanks Carissa! It’s better than it being dark out!


Leave a Reply

Like it? Subscribe!

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Top Clicks

  • None

The Stat Sheet

  • 34,514 people have read me!

On Demand

Listen to back episodes of our hit show, "Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends" by subscribing to the feed. New episodes every Sunday night at 9 p.m. exclusively on TalkRadioX.

Subscribe to Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends


Powered by FeedBurner


