09
Sep
08

the difference between d.c. and san francisco

Aside from some very tall trees and overpriced real estate …

The big story in the Bay Area right now? Tree sitters!

You just don’t get tree sitters in D.C., you know? I’m not even sure there are any trees left.

I’ve been listening to it most of the morning on KGO-AM, a talk station in San Francisco. The host, and rightly so, said it’s hard to listen to all of this coverage without some level of bemusement. I’d have to agree.

Bemusement and a little healthy outrage. These hippies have cost the University of California a whole crapload of money with police, delays, legal wrangling, etc. They’ve even agreed to pledge $6 million to granola-approved causes if these smelly, incense-burning misfits come down voluntarily.

Maybe I don’t get it because, let’s face it, I’m borderline fascist. I don’t get environmentalists. I hate hippies. I’d just go in with saws blazing and cut the trees down with the hippies still in them. Powerful lesson to future hippies, don’t you think? Come down when we say come down or come down under a few hundred tons of oak. Pretty easy choice.

Maybe they’re … splinter groups … of a bigger movement. Ding!! Ah, thank you. I’ll be here all week. Be sure to tip your waiter.

7 Responses to “the difference between d.c. and san francisco”


  1. September 9, 2008 at 3:34 pm

    You’re not borderline fascist, GoDub, you’re a dirty hippie πŸ™‚ But you can’t really lump Berkeley in with San Francisco, as Berkeley is its own little world. Some people refer to my alma mater as “the Berkeley of the Midwest”, but we’re not even close to the anarchy that is the real deal. Besides, I already know that you giant heart San Fran πŸ™‚

    TW

  2. 2 girlofwords
    September 9, 2008 at 3:38 pm

    The entire area is just fascinating. But that little piece of land in Berkeley right is just dominating the SF news cycle right now.

    I do giant, giant heart SF. πŸ™‚ They would smell my fascist stank, though.

  3. September 9, 2008 at 4:55 pm

    [Sniff, sniff] No dear, you’re cool… But is that why you’re always burning incense and wearing patchouli? πŸ™‚

    TW

  4. 4 girlofwords
    September 9, 2008 at 5:07 pm

    Hahaha … no. I’m just testing my perfume on animals.

  5. September 9, 2008 at 5:24 pm

    PETA was right about you all along. They’ve just activated the sleeper agent residing in deep cover in your household (you know him as Inky)

    TW

  6. 6 girlofwords
    September 9, 2008 at 5:26 pm

    I do suspect that Inky is looking for a way to exterminate me.

  7. October 1, 2008 at 5:49 pm

    Hey GoDub, I forgot to tell you that when I was in San Fran, my Oakland friends told me that the authorities were slowly cutting branches off these oak trees over the course of the two years, and eventually when they couldn’t cut any more empty branches, they started to take the tree-sitters out… So it sounds like it was kind of a slow-motion version of your strategy…

    TW


Leave a Reply

Like it? Subscribe!

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Top Clicks

  • None

The Stat Sheet

  • 34,507 people have read me!

On Demand

Listen to back episodes of our hit show, "Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends" by subscribing to the feed. New episodes every Sunday night at 9 p.m. exclusively on TalkRadioX.

Subscribe to Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends


Powered by FeedBurner


