20
Aug
08

a lull in the action

(You know, in case you needed any further proof of my white trash-ness, here’s today’s lunch. But if I may — is that not genius? Pure genius. Screw you, Easy Mac. There’s a new sheriff in town.)

Greetings, readers. All three of you. Ah, but seriously … Seven. Eight, tops. 🙂

The ol’ blog’s been quiet for a few days — I’ve been trying to get six days worth of work done in four and navigate our new Web site at work so I haven’t had much in terms of downtime. By the time I’m getting home at night, I’m zoned. But I’ve been reading and keeping up with you all as much as I can.

But some random observations of the last few days:

  • CVS at the corner of 15th and K is really just trying to kill me. Their anti-diet-Mountain-Dew aggression will not stand, man. If I have cash, there’s always Vermont International. The hang-up there, of course, being the phrase, “If I have cash.” Cash only businesses piss me off.
  • With Metro, I’ve discovered that you either have perfect luck (like you get to the station right as a train comes or where a train will be along in one minute) or you’re just hosed (like last night where at my first stop, I had a seven-minute wait followed by a five-minute wait at the second stop and a three-minute wait at the third. Yes, that’s 15 minutes of just standing).
  • I don’t want your text message, Barack Obama. Just tell Drudge and move on.
  • My new computer at work is the most amazing machine ever. And it’s a Mac.
  • Of the four or five packages a day I get, I’ve only heard of one of them — books, CDs, etc.
  • It takes very little to make me happy — a new friend on Facebook, an e-mail from a friend I haven’t heard from in a while, a cat rubbing his head on me and purring and a good show on Sunday. We talked about the egg donation on Sunday and it was great. I got a new caller (Erin!!!) and she was great. I hope she comes back.
  • Sunday’s podcast isn’t up because I’m lazy. I just haven’t gotten around to it. But soon, I hope.
  • Oh, and most importantly — MY DAD IS WALKING!! Yeah! That’s right. Bob is MOBILE. With help, of course, but he’s mobile. He’s also talking more and more. You can actually hear his voice. He’s good with short questions, but you can tell there’s some processing time there, too. All in all, amazing. Nothing short of my total hero in every sense of the word. He’s tougher than I could ever be.

Other than that, things are normal. I’ve got a ton of uploading to do for work, so I need to get on that, but maybe if I feel like partying, I’ll post some Metro shots from the last few days. I’ve also been spending time at night doing this thing called “reading” where you hold a book and look at the words and they tell a story. It’s pretty badass.

7 Responses to “a lull in the action”


  1. 1 Joe
    August 20, 2008 at 4:24 pm

    The Girl O’Words Abides . . .

  2. 2 girlofwords
    August 20, 2008 at 9:10 pm

    I do. No matter what, you can count on my abiding.

  3. August 21, 2008 at 4:23 pm

    GoDub, I’m really, really, really trying to get past “Insta-burger” meal… I have established I may be a food freak, but really, on what level is this even remotely good? Hoy.
    I never carry cash, either, and what’s up with Diet Mtn Dew shortage in DC?
    I heart Mac. I have 2 of them.
    You can consider me a “Happy Hour” Fan.
    Congrats to your dad on his 1st steps. It’s truly the beginning of a whole new stage in his recovery… Mobility– you never realize how essential this is until you lose it.
    Reading? A book? They still make those? 😉
    Thx for the support this week 😉

  4. 4 Ann
    August 21, 2008 at 10:53 pm

    This would have been an excellent “What are you having for lunch?” post 🙂
    And I’m so glad to hear how Bob is the epitome of fighter. That’s awesome.
    I can’t wait to see you soon.
    And, I tuv woo!

  5. 5 Carissa D.
    August 22, 2008 at 10:09 am

    I’m glad to hear your dad is improving.

  6. August 22, 2008 at 3:52 pm

    GoDub,

    What Carissa said. I’m sure you’re thrilled about your dad’s progress, and I’m happy for you. Have a good weekend…

    TW (Still living in a rain-soaked Sunshine State)

  7. 7 Angela
    August 22, 2008 at 8:37 pm

    Woman, I think you are the funniest (even though I know that’s not actually a word) blogger out there. I think you may even kick the shit out of Dooce. (But hopefully I won’t go to hell for saying so.) And YAY for Bob!!! That’s wonderful news. The picture is priceless. Great work! (Can I get one of those, too?)


Leave a Reply

Like it? Subscribe!

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Top Clicks

  • None

The Stat Sheet

  • 34,507 people have read me!

On Demand

Listen to back episodes of our hit show, "Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends" by subscribing to the feed. New episodes every Sunday night at 9 p.m. exclusively on TalkRadioX.

Subscribe to Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends


Powered by FeedBurner


