14
Aug
08

why my mom rocks more than your mom

When I went to West Virginia last weekend, my Mom gave me the above little gadget as a gift. She said she didn’t really need it because she and Dad don’t travel as much as I do and she didn’t want it to not get put to good use.

It’s good to have Jill back. “Jill” was the name of the female voice on the last Garmin I had, and sometimes on long drives to Richmond or Philadelphia, Jill and I would have differences of opinion on the best route there. I was really happy to see that Jill’s voice was on this one, too.

And it was good, again, to have differences of opinion with Jill on the best way to get back to Maryland from Wheeling. When Jill tried to get me to take the California, Pa., exit off Interstate 70 and go down PA 43 to U.S. 119, to Uniontown, Pa., and over to Cumberland, I had to tell Jill I thought she was f-ed in the head. When, a few miles later, she again told me to take PA 51 down to Uniontown, I had to lay down the law. Eventually, Jill just shut up and let me do my damage along the Pennsylvania Turnpike. She didn’t say another word, really, until it was time to get on the Beltway.

But I’m glad to have her, even if I hate her. There are a lot of things I’d like to see in DC, but I never really know the best way to get there. There are a lot of things I’d like to see in Baltimore, but same thing — I know less about Baltimore than I do about Washington. And I figure when things level out, I’ll again be making trips to Richmond and Philadelphia, so it’ll be interesting to fight with her again.

But I promise to not be one of those people who just blindly listen to Jill … You know, the ones who turn into the side wall of a preschool or merge across six lanes of traffic like they’re insane because the navigator said “stay right.”

I couldn’t stay right if I tried.

4 Responses to “why my mom rocks more than your mom”


  1. 1 Ann
    August 14, 2008 at 8:15 pm

    I’m actually arguing already in my head about whether to blindly listen to Mio tomorrow on my vacation odyssey from Charleston, to Cincinnati, to Columbus, to Pittsburgh, to Moundsville and back to Charleston.
    I broke up with Mio ever since my trip to San Antonio, when it had a creative route to the airport. Unless you have one, you truly can’t understand the love/hate fighting you do with a GPS.

  2. 2 girlofwords
    August 14, 2008 at 9:26 pm

    It’s true … people really DON’T get the relationship you have with a GPS in the car until you have one. And it’s a tempestuous one, too.

  3. August 19, 2008 at 12:30 pm

    Ahhh… Jill.
    Yes.
    My manfriend got a Nuvi recently and of course had to program it to use the Jill voice since my name is Jill.
    He just drove his two Jills up to the mountains above Santa Barbara this past weekend.
    My name for his other Jill?
    Car bitch.
    And yeah, car bitch wanted to take us all sorts of crazy ways to a place I have been going for years.
    Sorry, car bitch. But we will NOT be getting off on Highway 154.

  4. 4 girlofwords
    August 20, 2008 at 9:31 pm

    See what I mean! Jill (not you, ’cause you’re awesome) is a psycho. I have no idea the rationale behind some of those routes.


Leave a Reply

Like it? Subscribe!

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Top Clicks

  • None

The Stat Sheet

  • 34,517 people have read me!

On Demand

Listen to back episodes of our hit show, "Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends" by subscribing to the feed. New episodes every Sunday night at 9 p.m. exclusively on TalkRadioX.

Subscribe to Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends


Powered by FeedBurner


