14
Aug
08

a minute to catch up

Once at my old job, my friend Jeff told our beast of an ad sales manager that he was busier than a one-armed paper hanger. Unfortunately, that woman’s son had one arm. Woof.

But that’s how I’ve been feeling lately. I’m pressed for time on a lot of things and I’m tripping over my words a lot. But it happens. It’s OK. Times like these will happen. You deal with it. You move on.

For anybody who’s called me and I haven’t called you back yet (I think poor Jo in Miami may be worried that I’m dead on top of various family members who I haven’t gotten back to): I’m sorry for the perceived hosing. I’m truly not hosing you. Most of the time, I get home close to 8. By the time I unwind, have a little dinner, spend some time with the cats and Brandon, it’s almost 10, and well, Grandma’s ready to go to bed at that point.

It’s not that things have been bad, you know? It’s that I believe at different points in our lives, we’re tested. I was only really tested for the first time last year, just about 11 months ago. I could sink or swim. I picked swimming. Now, since then, I’ve been taking laps in this pool that’s just a touch too deep to stand in, but I figure that I’m just about at the end of it.

I was telling Paige the other night that I just want my life to get back to some semblance of normal. Some sense of waking up on a Saturday and enjoying the day off and not traveling to West Virginia or feeling guilty about NOT traveling to West Virginia. I’d like to go visit other friends. I’d like my friends to come visit me. Hell, I’d just like to have dinner downtown. 🙂

But I figured I needed to update because I’ve been quiet. I haven’t had a chance to catch up on many blogs, but I did scan through some last night. I have some of the most talented friends out there — Erin, Jim, T-Dubs. I’m lucky to be in such great company!

But until we meet again, which likely will be tonight … Rock out. Don’t forget to live.

4 Responses to “a minute to catch up”


  1. August 14, 2008 at 6:28 pm

    Aww thx for the shout out, girl.
    I’m not going to try to “one-up” you in the misery department, but I unfortunately too have had a crazy 2008. I figure God is just trying to make my 29th year interesting. BUT I can tell you it does get better… There’s nothing wrong with retreating a little. Take the time, reflect, work through your emotions. You don’t have to be “on” for anyone but yourself. I think sometimes I can lose sight of that. It can be hard to find your way back, but you will!

    E

  2. 2 girlofwords
    August 14, 2008 at 6:36 pm

    Thanks so much for saying things I needed to hear. Sometimes, I feel like I’d be better off to just keep plugging along and pretend that all’s well, but you’re right — there’s no harm in taking some quality, alone, me time and letting me be me.

    I’m hoping that my 29th year will just be one of those “holy crap, that was crazy, wasn’t it?”

    And you’re welcome for the shout-out. I wouldn’t have said it if I didn’t mean it, girl! 🙂

  3. August 16, 2008 at 11:36 pm

    What Erin said, GoDub. It’s always nice to get a shout-out from the Queen of All Media 🙂 I can sympathize with your weekend dilemma, as I had to go through the same thing when my dad got sick and I was living three hours away. I drove from Orlando to Palm Beach for five weeks in a row, then I took a weekend off. That constant driving just wears you out, so don’t feel bad about taking a break whenever you need to. Besides, your dad’s still getting better, right?

    All the best, GoDub…

    TW


Leave a Reply

Like it? Subscribe!

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Top Clicks

  • None

The Stat Sheet

  • 34,517 people have read me!

On Demand

Listen to back episodes of our hit show, "Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends" by subscribing to the feed. New episodes every Sunday night at 9 p.m. exclusively on TalkRadioX.

Subscribe to Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends


Powered by FeedBurner


