11
Aug
08

meanwhile, at the hall of justice

That could sum up the last couple of days for me. I left Maryland at 2 p.m. Friday, and more than six hours later (thanks, in part, to solid traffic and road construction from Maryland to Breezewood, Pa.) got to Wheeling to see my Dad. He looks great. He’s making amazing progress. If all goes well, he’ll be home in about four weeks or so. He actually talked to me Friday night, which was huge. I hadn’t heard his voice since May. Probably Mother’s Day. He wasn’t really down with my move, so we weren’t talking much before this happened. I’m certain nothing like that will every happen again.

Saturday morning, I got up early and headed down to Charleston for Michelle’s shower and bachelorette party. It was so strange going to Charleston. It felt weird. But I had a great time, albeit an exhausted one. I’m certain I’d be more equipped to really cut loose with some ample sleep, but that’s not in the cards for a few more weeks.

Sunday was spent back in Wheeling to see Dad again (it’ll be a couple of weeks before I’m back) and driving home. I found myself on the Pennsylvania Turnpike with NPR being the only radio I could pick up. It was “All Things Considered.” I heard a story about how the Olympics are nothing but out of control nationalism and a huge story about Obama’s first trip to southern Illinois. I wish I was making that up. I really wish I was making that up.

But now, home, and back at it. I saw a Twitter from Ann this morning asking what was up about everybody’s “end of summer” funk, and I full admit I’m in one, too. As I sat on Julie’s couch Sunday morning, I said, “I really feel like I’m one more event away from a ‘hospital grade’ breakdown.” Maybe it’s exaggerating a bit, but I’m starting to feel like I can’t catch a break. Every time I turn around, someone’s angry, something’s broken, something’s going to cost me twice what I expected it to, somebody’s feelings are hurt that I don’t seem like me, etc. I don’t often whine in this space, but without whining too much, I’m really just feeling like I’ve hit my limit.

It does feel good to be back here, though. As crazy an as out of sorts as things feel, at least it’s consistently that way. Consistency’s not always a bad thing.

But in case Karma’s reading today, it’s not funny anymore. I’d like to cash in my good chips.

9 Responses to “meanwhile, at the hall of justice”


  1. 1 Ann
    August 11, 2008 at 2:18 pm

    I can’t see your picture, thanks to The Man, but I just keep crossing my fingers and hoping that since I can’t figure out how I got myself to this point where I’m straddling the grumpy-funk-sad line, hopefully it’ll just shake off.
    But you and I are not alone, if it’s any consolation 🙂

  2. 2 girlofwords
    August 11, 2008 at 3:01 pm

    Ah, The Man. I don’t miss The Man one bit. Over on this side of the Berlin Wall, we get Internet to our heart’s desire.

    I hope I can shake this soon. It’s not been fun.

  3. August 12, 2008 at 8:23 am

    I too have been hit w/ the summer funk, but in a different way. I’m acting like a carefree teenager and not the responsible adult my career demands of me. It’s like I can’t just sit still and focus!

  4. 4 girlofwords
    August 12, 2008 at 11:17 am

    Erin: I know what you mean. It’s been beautiful here the last couple of days. I really love how it feels outside. Maybe Miss Pasty I am just needed some sunshine. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Like it? Subscribe!

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Top Clicks

  • None

The Stat Sheet

  • 34,564 people have read me!

On Demand

Listen to back episodes of our hit show, "Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends" by subscribing to the feed. New episodes every Sunday night at 9 p.m. exclusively on TalkRadioX.

Subscribe to Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends


Powered by FeedBurner


