11
Aug
08

i

After whittling through a few candidates tonight, I present your winner.

I watched my finalists in a row and this one ended up winning because of production value alone. I’m actually somewhat amazed at the production that went into this video for 1983. I don’t know artists in 2008 who would put this much effort into producing a music video. I mean, a lighted floor, dancers, weird lighting effects.

Sure, it looks like something the local summer stock theater group put together with the local high school’s AV Club, but still … I do enjoy this video a good bit. And I’m willing to bet some of you haven’t even THOUGHT of this song or video in years.

11 Responses to “i”


  1. August 12, 2008 at 8:33 am

    You’re right… I haven’t thought about this song..decades? Good choice.

    I was wondering.. Does your 80’s nostalgia extend toward 80’s movies? I’ve got 2– (Beside all John Hughes Movies) Heathers and Young Guns… (Late 80’s but still.) Heathers was a particular favorite of mine as it came up with this quote… “Fuck me gently with a chainsaw. Do I look like Mother Theresa to you?”

  2. 2 girlofwords
    August 12, 2008 at 11:18 am

    It does extend to movies, too. All of the John Hughes movies, of course, “Revenge of the Nerds” is a huge one in my book and a movie that hardly anybody knows — “Just One of the Guys.” I love that movie, and it’s crap as all get out.

  3. August 12, 2008 at 1:56 pm

    Oh I remember that movie!!! You’re right, it was crap. Don’t forget all the police academy movies, Spaceballs and the Great Outdoors…;-)

  4. 4 girlofwords
    August 12, 2008 at 2:00 pm

    True story: We have “The Great Outdoors” on OnDemand, and I think Brandon and I have watched it three or four time at least. And the other night when we were out at dinner, I said I was full from the prime rib, and then said, “If we can get a dessert down him, can you throw in a couple of Paul Bunyan hats for the kids?”

    Another great ’80s movie: “Back to School.” LOVE that movie.

  5. August 12, 2008 at 2:15 pm

    “Alright alright, no one is blowing anything out of anyone’s ass.”
    “Oh go find yourself a spin cycle…”

    Sorry, one more classic– Howard the Duck…. Talk about obscure… If you haven’t, it’s well worth it. I’m sure you’d have a few comment regarding to the Leah Thompson/Duck love scene behine the blanket…

  6. 6 girlofwords
    August 12, 2008 at 2:21 pm

    Oh, man, we watched “Howard the Duck” clips on YouTube last night because I said I wanted to go to Cleve-Land to see the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. Hahahahaha!!

  7. 7 Paige
    August 12, 2008 at 6:09 pm

    Howard the Duck makes me want to claw my eyes out. I’m not even kidding.

    Just go ahead and bump all this to an 80’s movie thread, JJ. You know you wanna!

  8. August 12, 2008 at 6:13 pm

    In watching those clips last night, I couldn’t conceivably believe that I actually, willingly, of my own choice, watched “Howard the Duck” about a hundred times when I was growing up. I don’t know why … that movie is plain awful. There’s not a redeeming quality in that entire movie. Not even George Lucas could save that movie.

    Hahaha … I could easily do a post on the greatest movies of the ’80s at some point. 🙂

  9. August 19, 2008 at 9:38 am

    Reading these comments really is a reminder of how many crappy movies there were in the 80s.

    How did this now make your list?

  10. August 19, 2008 at 9:39 am

    Screwed that up! I was asking how Putting on the Ritz didn’t make your list. The video is not only all kinds of 80s hideous, but it features blackface. What a winner.

  11. August 19, 2008 at 11:08 am

    I was still living in Jamaica in the early ’80s, and was MTV-deprived at the time that “Putting on the Ritz” was out, so I never saw the video, but I just liked it as a song. Plus I got a little kick out of the fact that a 50-year-old song by Irving Berlin could make the Top 40…

    TW
    p.s. GoDub, “One Night In Bangkok” was one of my favourite songs at the time. And the album from which it was taken, the soundtrack for the musical “Chess”, was awesome, even though I don’t care much of musicals…
    p.p.s. Yes, “MTV-deprived” was an appropriate descriptor at the time. Nowadays it could fall off my cable lineup and I might not notice for a couple of weeks or so…


Leave a Reply

Like it? Subscribe!

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Top Clicks

  • None

The Stat Sheet

  • 34,514 people have read me!

On Demand

Listen to back episodes of our hit show, "Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends" by subscribing to the feed. New episodes every Sunday night at 9 p.m. exclusively on TalkRadioX.

Subscribe to Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends


Powered by FeedBurner


