29
Jul
08

Cleaning out the notebook

It’s been a busy few days around the offices of Second Team Productions, proud sponsors of “On air. Online. On demand,” but to recap, here’s a look at some top news items.

  • In an e-mail to one of my good friends in San Diego, I wrote about my Dad’s latest condition update: I talked to Mom a little bit ago and she said that for the cognitive stuff, he knows the phrases and stuff in his head, but the part of his brain for pushing them out is what’s taking a while. Like, the speech therapist asked Dad (and he had a notebook) what food he wanted to eat more than anything. He wrote “hot dogs.” (I am SO my Dad’s kid). And she asked him if he had any children, and he wrote “Two girls.” She asked him where his hometown was, and he wrote “New Martinsville.” It’s just the act of pushing the words out of his face … He’s having to learn that.
    He can walk only if he’s held up. That’s a priority is building up his strength to walk. He puts his feet on the floor and he can move himself around in a wheelchair just fine. He’s just not strong enough. Knows how to eat, all of that stuff. Still not 100 percent on the “going to the bathroom” thing, but you have to cut the guy a break on that, you know? He shouldn’t be alive.
  • If an entire restaurant chain closes and nobody cares, does it still count?: I read that Bennigan’s, or as we always called it, “Regret-again’s” is shutting down, no doubt sparing tons of diners from disappointing, overpriced meals and utterly crappy service. No word on where lovers of the delicious Monte Cristo sandwich and grossly overcooked Pub Burger will be able to find their artery-clogging, disgusting replacements.
  • Any crime becomes immediately more awesome if you do it naked: In today’s Charleston Daily Mail, there’s a delightful item about a guy from Clay getting liquored up and causing a ruckus at a convenience store. “While en route, deputies were informed by dispatchers that one of the people involved was drunk and naked, according to a complaint filed in Kanawha Magistrate Court.” Let’s get this party started right …
  • Also in today’s Daily Mail: Someone get this headline on a hot key — I suggest “Alt-F4” or something. 2 WVU basketball players arrested Thank you, insider douchebags, for ushering in the Bob Huggins era. We can only hope that the next batch of police reports are more impressive than this one, which, admittedly, is kinda weak. Yes, you, Board of Governors douches, shunned the upstanding, straight laced likes of John Beilein for your home boy. Better get the PR machine greased. If his track record plays out like it did at Cincinnati, this is only the beginning.
  • Somehow, I think there’s a bigger problem here: I should just let this one speak for itself. I’ll preface it with this: Not everybody gets to be an astronaut when they grow up.
  • What do you mean CSS?!: I’m still working on learning how to use CSS or anything along that vein. I bought the actual domain www.girlofwords.com (a steal at $5.95) and my hope is to migrate this blog over to its new home. However, I can’t get the template like this one to look exactly how I’d hoped and I’m a perfectionist. Launch … inevitably delayed.
  • On my afternoon: I’m pretty sure I got my first ever prank call at work. I mean, I really think it was … She played the part of neighborhood harpie and asked me if she could read me the lead on her story for her community newsletter. It was about an old lady wanting to have sex again after she visited a therapist. I’m quite sure this couldn’t have been real. I had to eventually cut her off and hang up.

    That’s it from the front lines … We’ll have more in a live report.

  • 8 Responses to “Cleaning out the notebook”


    1. 1 Ann
      July 29, 2008 at 2:50 pm

      No community newsletter should involve the word sex.
      I’m only sad I didn’t think to prank call you first.

    2. July 29, 2008 at 3:51 pm

      Baby steps with the dad. Yea for his continual progression and may it continue! My dad had a heard time relearning to swallow, but when he did, it was the best day!

      I’m glad other athletes besides OSU football players get arrested!

    3. July 29, 2008 at 4:36 pm

      A few comments:

      – Thanks for the update on your dad; here’s hoping that his condition will improve shortly…

      – You’re right about Bennigan’s being lame. And who has the appetite to eat an entire Monte Cristo?

      – Law students ruin it for everybody. Michigan never gave snow days when I was there, and the rumour was that when they gave one back in the ’70s, a law student sued them for one day’s worth of tuition…

      – If you don’t want to wrestle with CSS (and really, who does?), you could always use your new domain name as an alias for this webpage (that’s what I did for the Type M page, whose real address is much more complicated)

      TW

    4. July 29, 2008 at 7:56 pm

      Ann: Surreal. Totally surreal. I still don’t know if it was fake or not, but I’m leaning toward fake.

      Erin: I’m telling you … it’s only the beginning. They’re gonna make Maurice Clarett look like a kitten.

      T-Dub: I have an idea to migrate everything over with this template to the new domain, so I’m gonna try that. 🙂 But you’re right … if nothing else, redirect it away!

    5. 5 Angela
      July 29, 2008 at 7:59 pm

      Okay, so I have to begin by saying how much I love the new masthead. Fucking genius, that. And on a serious note, I’m sorry to hear about your dad and hope that each day brings peace, healing and progress.

    6. July 29, 2008 at 8:06 pm

      Angela: Thanks! 🙂 It worked out beautifully for me. The reason I’m having trouble moving this blog over to the new site is trying to replicate the header. I haven’t been able to do it yet.

      Thanks about my Dad … he’s doing great, actually. We’re so lucky!

    7. 7 Carissa D.
      July 30, 2008 at 11:30 am

      I’m glad to hear that your dad is progressing.

      Actually, I’m a little sad about Bennigan’s. Their fries were great…I just chose not to think about what had had its way with the fries before I got them. 🙂

    8. July 30, 2008 at 1:22 pm

      You know, if I think about it, Bennigan’s did have good fries. It’s just a shame you had the rest of it to deal with! 🙂


    Leave a Reply

        Like it? Subscribe!

    July 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Aug »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  

    Top Clicks

    • None

    The Stat Sheet

    • 34,514 people have read me!

    On Demand

    Listen to back episodes of our hit show, "Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends" by subscribing to the feed. New episodes every Sunday night at 9 p.m. exclusively on TalkRadioX.

    Subscribe to Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends


    Powered by FeedBurner


