25
Jul
08

I <3 the ’80s (Vol. 4)

This one is dedicated to Brandon, who by no fault of his own got associated with this song and this association makes me laugh every time I hear the song. (Maybe he’ll leave a comment so he can tell you all about being victimized by this song at every given opportunity, because nothing says ‘I love you’ quite like a captive audience.)

It’s dangerous to tell me how much you hate a song when you live with me, especially if my little heart has some cheeseball fondness for it. Be assured that the video is JUST as cheeseball as the song.

Bonus if you can tell me what movie used this song prominently.

Double bonus if you ever heard the Glenn Beck show where he pretended to be a DJ for “Lance FM” and used this song as his hook.

(I’ve also been told by others this is probably the single worst song ever. I’m not sure. I’ll have to defer to my resident music critic, TW, to clear this one up for me.)

5 Responses to “I <3 the ’80s (Vol. 4)”


  1. July 26, 2008 at 12:50 pm

    I’m anxious to hear TW’s response…. But I LOVED this song. It is 80’s cheese personified… especially w/ the szx solo… I know it was used in 2 men and a little lady. I still know every word by heart… I’m a loser.

  2. 2 Carissa
    July 26, 2008 at 11:12 pm

    I must be a loser too because I like this song.

  3. July 27, 2008 at 8:43 pm

    I’ve also been told by others this is probably the single worst song ever. I’m not sure. I’ll have to defer to my resident music critic, TW, to clear this one up for me.

    I didn’t realize I’d been promoted to resident music critic; does the job come with benefits? 🙂
    The only people calling this the worst song ever are probably people like the drama queens at Blender Magazine. For some reason, that magazine has a knee-jerk hatred of ’80s music, as if other decades don’t have their share of cheese. But hardly anyone would have heard about this list had VH-1 not puffed up its importance by using it as the basis for one of their specials. Of course, any independent-thinking person can easily think of other songs far worse than this one (“Don’t Worry, Be Happy”, anyone? Or, more recently, that “crazy” song by Gnarls Barkley)…

    But far be it from me to defend B-Dub, especially on musical matters :), but I too find this song appealing, despite the moderate cheese factor. The thing that clinches it for me is the female vocal, which is pretty alluring. I can’t imagine too many guys who wouldn’t be happy to hear their girlfriend/wife crooning this song to them, no matter how many Pantera CDs they may have in their collection…

    TW

  4. July 30, 2008 at 9:33 am

    Everyone knows the worst song ever is the theme to Three’s Company.

  5. July 30, 2008 at 9:37 am

    I often get that song stuck in my head on the Metro. It’s hellish.


Leave a Reply

Like it? Subscribe!

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

The Stat Sheet

  • 34,514 people have read me!

On Demand

Listen to back episodes of our hit show, "Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends" by subscribing to the feed. New episodes every Sunday night at 9 p.m. exclusively on TalkRadioX.

Subscribe to Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends


Powered by FeedBurner


