20
Jul
08

It certainly does suck!

As you can see, it sucks ... as it cuts.

As you can see, it sucks ... as it cuts.

I saw a post from my Twitter “friend” Mike Doe today that read:

It’s Flowbee time. Shaggy is not a good look.

This immediately made me nostalgic for all of the Sunday morning television I watched as a kid. I’d honestly map out my television viewing to maximize the amount of infomercials I could pack into four to six hours.

(This, of course, would explain why I think everything I see on television is the next best thing invented and I have four friends.)

The Flowbee. The Showtime Rotisserie Grill. OxyClean. Mike Levy and his Amazing Discoveries. Sigh.

I tried in vain to find clips of the original Flowbee infomercial and struck out. I did find this one though, which I found to be equally pleasing to my nostalgia for 1980s products and 1980s television.

I’m tempted (you know, if it weren’t still freakin’ $50!!) to buy one of these and make Brandon a guinea pig. Then again, if anybody has a Flowbee they wouldn’t mind letting me borrow, we can get this experiment under way much sooner.

2 Responses to “It certainly does suck!”


  1. 1 Paige
    July 20, 2008 at 1:18 pm

    During 2002-2003, I worked in an office who had a typically weird IT guy–nay, network ADMINISTRATOR, who was extremely proud of the fact that he used a flowbee to cut his hair. Judging by how long he kept the bowl and ‘burns, I’m betting this wasn’t so much for convenience, but so that he would be spared the need to communicate with another human being for routine maintenance tasks, like, say, getting a haircut.

    It gets better. He had a standalone moustache, carried an honest-to-god pocket protector, and was from Fairmont. I don’t remember the guy’s name, but there’s a very good chance that he had two firsts.

  2. July 20, 2008 at 1:33 pm

    I would imagine that most of the people who embrace the Flowbee are like that. I read their Web site and they had all of these testimonials of all of these “Oh, it’s saved me thousands” and things like that, but still … I can’t get past, “It’s a vacuum. And there’s no trained person on the other end.”

    We have to find this guy somehow, though.


Leave a Reply

Like it? Subscribe!

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

The Stat Sheet

  • 34,542 people have read me!

On Demand

Listen to back episodes of our hit show, "Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends" by subscribing to the feed. New episodes every Sunday night at 9 p.m. exclusively on TalkRadioX.

Subscribe to Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends


Powered by FeedBurner


