18
Jul
08

There’s no theme in this one.

I left early today for work … and as soon as I get to the Red Line platform at Fort Totten, I hear, “Attention Red Line customers — expect delays in both directions because of a switching problem at the Cleveland Park station.” Fannnnnnntastic. I only made it to Metro Center before I had to get off for the quiet refuge of the Blue/Orange because the angry guy beside me on the Red had a stand alone ‘stache and dark sunglasses and every time we’d sit at the platform (hence the “expected delay”) he’s start huffing and yelling to me, well, I guess anybody, “I don’t know why this F$@*ING SYSTEM can’t get it right!!!!!!”

Yeah, buddy, I get your frustration. But you were scary. So I had to leave. I didn’t want to be front-page news today.

I’ve been dealing with a headache most of the day. I just thought I’d share that with the group.

In other news, according to a handy quiz I took on the Internets, I’m living in the wrong city. At FindYourSpot.com, you can take a handy little quiz based on preferences about climate, housing, crime, stuff to do, etc., and it’ll tell you where you’d be happiest. My winner?

Please, Hammer ... Don\'t hurt \'em.

Please, Hammer ... Don't hurt 'em.

OAKLAND!

That’s right, boys and girls. Oakland, Calif. As in “Oaktown.” As in “East Bay.” As in “right the hell across the water from San Francisco.” As in “TELL HER WHAT SHE’S WON, BOB!!”

This pleases me. Almost as much as an Amy Fisher movie marathon.

Also coming up in tonight’s report — a weekend perhaps spend IN Maryland rather than ON the road? Could it be true? Tune in at 11.

7 Responses to “There’s no theme in this one.”


  1. 1 Paige
    July 18, 2008 at 8:33 pm

    You ready for this? That thing told me to live in Richmond, Hampton, Raleigh, Lynchburg, Asheville, etc.

    L. O. L.

  2. July 19, 2008 at 12:25 pm

    How freaking spooky is it that where you live is where you SHOULD live?

    Me getting Oakland only reinforced that whole, “maybe I’m a granola muncher at heart” thing.

  3. 3 Paige
    July 19, 2008 at 6:15 pm

    You’re a dirty hippie, JJ.

  4. July 22, 2008 at 1:05 am

    I just spent the night in Oakland. It didn’t seem that granola, but this is California, so you know granola’s not far away…

    One of the places FindYourSpot recommended to me was Charlston, WV. Is Dub Vee ready for Tee Dub?

    TW

  5. July 22, 2008 at 1:06 am

    p.s. Paige says “dirty” like it’s a bad thing πŸ™‚

  6. July 22, 2008 at 9:34 am

    I think I would love Oakland because it’s right across from SF. πŸ™‚

    You would dig Charleston, I think. Paige grew up there, too. It wasn’t terrible. This was just a great career move.

  7. July 22, 2008 at 10:05 pm

    I think I would love Oakland because it’s right across from SF.

    Every time I visit San Fran, I love it a little more… I’ve always said my favourite American city was Boston, with SF at #2, but I’m starting to rethink that ranking…

    You would dig Charleston, I think.

    But would Charleston dig a hot-blooded Jamaican guy? Just wondering πŸ™‚

    TW


Leave a Reply

Like it? Subscribe!

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

The Stat Sheet

  • 34,507 people have read me!

On Demand

Listen to back episodes of our hit show, "Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends" by subscribing to the feed. New episodes every Sunday night at 9 p.m. exclusively on TalkRadioX.

Subscribe to Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends


Powered by FeedBurner


