17
Jul
08

I didn’t get the memo.

I\'m not clicking your Tiny URL, so THERE!!

I'm not clicking your Tiny URL, so THERE!!

Much like a Facebook … and MySpace … and to a large extent, this blog … I got a Twitter account because other kids were doing it and I didn’t want to be left out when everybody else said, “Oh, I heard it on Twitter.”

(Weak, I know. But I’m a journalist. I want to hear everything. I want to be more in the know than the next guy. Of course, it doesn’t help my cause that I have the observational skills of an octogenarian with macular degeneration and four cotton balls in each ear.)

But, I digress. Twitter’s been kind of an OK thing to have. I do find updates fun, funny and at times, actually informative. Initially, I had the same thought as I did about MySpace and Facebook status updates — Does anybody really care what I’m doing all day? Don’t the people who care about me already know what I’m doing?

I never really took it seriously. Sometimes, I’d use it to tell people about our show (shameless plug: The Show That Never Ends! Happy Hour on TalkRadioX! Sunday nights, 9 p.m.). Occasionally, it would be just a general, “Looking forward to a busy week” or “Thankful for all of the good thoughts” when I was moving. Every once in a while, it would be stream-of-consciousness — “wishing my office had diet Mountain Dew in the vending machine” or “kicking my own ass for losing a credit card.”

Apparently, though, there are some who take it very, very seriously. Even with some of the people I follow, I’ll see posts like “Seeing a lot of unnecessary tweets today. Keep it relevant, people” (which, if you would, explain to me how that’s necessary) or “Going crazy with all of the senseless tweeting today.”

So, being the research fiend I am, I looked it up today, and yes, there is — believe it — a guideline of Twitter etiquette. With a second part.

Yes, indeed. There are people out there who take this Twitter thing very, very seriously.

But, Jacque, you say, “I’m following 398 people and I get annoyed at how often my cell phone vibrates with an update.”

Here’s Jacque’s solution: Don’t follow everybody with your cell phone. Comes with an option to shut it off. I have TWO people I follow with a text message. That’s it.

But, Jacque, you say, “It’s a valuable business tool! This is Web 2.0! This is social networking. I don’t care what you just downloaded from iTunes.”

Here’s Jacque’s solution: Don’t follow people who aren’t taking it as seriously as you are. Now, the amendment to this was I got “followed” by someone random from Texas and chose to follow him for a while. I had to stop “following” him because I got so bored with nothing but “I’m eatin’ tacos, bitches!” and “Going to the mall.”

I have to admit, I laughed really hard when I read this guy’s blog about the subject:

On Twitter Etiquette

He breaks down the previously mentioned guidelines with some first-class harsh. His solution is simple, like mine — you’re pretty well responsible for your own Twitter experience. You’re annoyed by someone’s updates? Just drop ’em. Chances are, they won’t notice.

So, for you people out who do use Twitter … Thoughts? If you don’t use Twitter, thoughts? Other than wanting to find John C. Welch and buying him a beverage of his choice, I’m curious what people who maybe take Twitter a bit more seriously than I do think about this issue.

(Slow news day, eh?)

7 Responses to “I didn’t get the memo.”


  1. July 17, 2008 at 2:57 pm

    I’m pretty sure I’m going to come off ignorant in this, but yet, I have an opinion. Twitter cracks me up. I don’t use it, and I marvel how people live and die for it. My thinking is this… unless your “tweet” informs me I’m becoming a millionaire, or there is a new common cure for AIDS, i’m pretty sure I can wait to hear the news. Seriously… to have it bleep me on my phone… Yeah. Not that I’m an important person or anything, but I have far more pressing matters to deal with and don’t need the interruption! (Which is why I don’t subscribe.)

  2. July 17, 2008 at 3:12 pm

    No, that’s a good thought! Sigh — if only I got more “tweets” that say, “You just got $1,000,000,000 from a rich relative you didn’t even know you had.” 🙂

  3. July 17, 2008 at 4:29 pm

    In 1984 Orwell imagined a world in which the government spied on our every move. Little did he know that we’d be spying on ourselves… I don’t use Twitter, but it seems like one step above those cellphones with the GPS that let your friends know what your location is…

    TW

  4. 4 noni
    July 18, 2008 at 2:22 pm

    I Twitter but only once a day. I can’t be bothered with more than that. Guess I’m doing it wrong?

  5. July 18, 2008 at 2:24 pm

    No, I think you’re doing it just fine! You’re engaging in the Twitter experience to your heart’s content. You only wanna Twitter once a day, that’s awesome! 🙂

  6. August 15, 2008 at 4:46 pm

    Just found this via Technorati.

    The best part was the idiot tried to drop a DMCA notice on me. My ISP and I had a great giggle over that.

  7. August 15, 2008 at 4:49 pm

    I found you!! Well, you found me. When you come to DC, drinks, sir, are ON ME!! You made me laugh harder than I had in weeks.

    I really do hate that idiot, though. It’s because of someone just like him we coined the term “twouchebag.”


Leave a Reply

Like it? Subscribe!

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

The Stat Sheet

  • 34,507 people have read me!

On Demand

Listen to back episodes of our hit show, "Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends" by subscribing to the feed. New episodes every Sunday night at 9 p.m. exclusively on TalkRadioX.

Subscribe to Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends


Powered by FeedBurner


