17
Jul
08

I <3 the ’80s (Vol. 2)

Let’s pack as many “New York City in the 1980s, the way God intended it to be, before Rudy turned it into a Six Flags” stereotypes into 4:30 as we possibly can.

Plus … Donald Trump!! Donald Trump!!

(Editor’s note: I’m probably the only person in the world who not only loves this song, but this movie. Every time this movie shows up in our OnDemand list at home, Brandon looks at me with a “how in the world do I live with you” glance and walks into the other room shaking his head. And says, “haven’t you seen this move about 500 times?” Yes. Yes I have. Tonight may make it 501.)

10 Responses to “I <3 the ’80s (Vol. 2)”


  1. 1 Pat
    July 17, 2008 at 4:53 pm

    Haha, I’m sure that was at the top of the music charts during the time and was the summer song everyone knew! Everyone had it blasting on their boom boxes!

  2. July 17, 2008 at 4:54 pm

    That is TOTALLY a summer song. I definitely associate that with summer. I had the tape. I can admit it. I listened to it a hundred times a day.

  3. 3 Paige
    July 17, 2008 at 5:48 pm

    I liked the first movie better. I probably have the script memorized.

  4. July 17, 2008 at 7:49 pm

    How bad is it that i still have that rap memorized. You just made me shriek w/ laughter.

  5. July 18, 2008 at 8:11 am

    And I am also another lover of this movie. Are you aware (I’m sure you are) that our boy bobby actually has a cameo in the movie… He’s the limo driver…

  6. July 18, 2008 at 8:37 am

    (Finally! Internet!!)

    Paige: I do love the first one, but I’m also a giant fan of No. 2. I don’t know what it is. It’s got to be its ’80s cheese factor.

    Erin: I, too, have the rap still memorized. It was in my head on the train last night. Woof. Oh, and yes — I did know that! He asked them if he could get one of those proton packs for his kids!

  7. 7 Economic Friction
    July 18, 2008 at 2:19 pm

    I have always been a Vigo apologist.

    Somehow, the wife and I settled for the Ray Parker-spun Ghostbusters theme for our wedding postgame intro/TitanTron music, owing to there being nothing else good on the list. This is better than the 1000th playing of U2’s Beautiful Day…….the last four times I’ve heard that one, I’ve been in a rented tux arm-and-arm with that day’s bride’s bitchiest friend, enjoying watermelon-flavour Big League Chew.

  8. July 18, 2008 at 2:21 pm

    Props, sir. Props. I like that idea.

    A Vigo apologist? I had no idea you were a Carpathian sympathist!

    Couldn’t Vigo have found a more suitable child than Oscar? That kid was NOT attractive.

  9. July 18, 2008 at 3:58 pm

    It’s nice to be reminded that, before all the drugs, arrests and mutually-destructive marriage to Whitney, Bobby Brown was actually a talented entertainer…

    Paige, tell ’em ’bout the Twinkie 🙂

    TW

  10. July 18, 2008 at 4:00 pm

    Yeah, the marriage and subsequent destruction of both Whitney Houston and Bobby Brown is sad. Both of them were pretty talented. Now both of them are punchlines.


Leave a Reply

Like it? Subscribe!

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

The Stat Sheet

  • 34,514 people have read me!

On Demand

Listen to back episodes of our hit show, "Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends" by subscribing to the feed. New episodes every Sunday night at 9 p.m. exclusively on TalkRadioX.

Subscribe to Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends


Powered by FeedBurner


