14
Jul
08

Survey says: I won’t eat (that).

... I just dry heaved.

... I just dry heaved.

In a nod to my good friend Jim and his patented “Jim’s Insta-poll,” I ask a fun question:

What WON’T you eat?

In addition to cottage cheese, eggs in any fashion other than scrambled and foie gras, what you see above is my chief offender. I absolutely become nauseated at the thought of mushrooms. I don’t know why. I’ve had them once ā€” when Julie, in a very sneaky, underhanded manner, chopped them up tiny and put them in risotto. I haven’t forgiven her for that yet.

But mushrooms are harmless!

… are they?

But what about you … what is it you refuse to eat? What makes you think, “I’d rather starve”?

10 Responses to “Survey says: I won’t eat (that).”


  1. July 14, 2008 at 12:26 pm

    Seafood… A damn tragedy in my book as it LOOKS SO Good. It’s a texture thing for me. It either feels too mushy or too gummy. Scallops taste like cartilage, and shrimp has the consistency of the brain. Oh yeah, and slimy! ugh– gross.
    I’m also a mushroom hater- I think of dirt.
    And Bananas- I could write a whole chapter on bananas.

  2. 2 Joe
    July 14, 2008 at 12:56 pm

    I have a friend who refers to mushrooms as God’s Little Erasers.

    That being said, I love ’em as well as Bananas, Erin.

    Beets, Lamb (too fatty & gamey), Okra, certain cold cuts. I’m sure there are a few others. Texture doesn’t bother me so much as taste.

  3. July 14, 2008 at 4:20 pm

    Tomatoes. I’m not talking about tomato sauce or ketchup or any other tomato product. I’m talking about raw, uncooked tomatoes.

    I like to think that they were created in Hell, brought to us because the Jews killed Jesus, and on Easter Sunday, somebody in Little Italy squashed them and made something that went great with the pasta (which had little use until this discovery).

  4. 4 Paige
    July 14, 2008 at 7:05 pm

    Uh oh, Dean…don’t visit my house. I’ve got 8 tomato plants in the backyard and I eat them raw like the fruit they are. šŸ™‚

    As for food I dislike: fried chicken livers, oysters of any sort, pinto beans, country fried steak, okra, gamey meats, and any overcooked vegetable. I also dislike fishsticks, and, thanks to my 6 years of Catholic grade school, any meat in nugget form. They even served “steak nuggets”. I kid you not.

  5. July 14, 2008 at 8:12 pm

    Ok Joe, you can eat my bananas and mushrooms… Although we’ll have to think of what we can “swap” as I also don’t particularly enjoy the food you mentioned…

  6. July 14, 2008 at 8:35 pm

    Gosh, where to begin? I’ll take Erin’s seafood and GoDub’s mushrooms, but I totally loved Dean’s rant about tomatoes, so Paige has two less produce thieves to worry about…

    But Is it me or was Erin just getting flirtatious with food? šŸ™‚

    TW

  7. July 14, 2008 at 8:57 pm

    I seriously considered typing “bananas = gag reflex” but thought this to be too suggestive… Dirty dirty mind… of which it appears I am also guilty.

  8. 8 Joe
    July 15, 2008 at 6:06 am

    Funny Erin, I was having dirty thoughts about the “swap” comment . . .

  9. July 15, 2008 at 9:20 am

    … I’m just gonna back out slowly and let this all shake out. šŸ™‚

  10. July 15, 2008 at 11:34 pm

    It can’t be good that the owner of the blog has abandoned this thread… All GoDub wanted to do was to go off on mushrooms, and now there’s all this…


Leave a Reply

Like it? Subscribe!

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

The Stat Sheet

  • 34,507 people have read me!

On Demand

Listen to back episodes of our hit show, "Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends" by subscribing to the feed. New episodes every Sunday night at 9 p.m. exclusively on TalkRadioX.

Subscribe to Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends


Powered by FeedBurner


