14
Jul
08

It’s as American as …

My love of the 1980s is rather unfailing and unparalleled.

What’s more American than this song? Really? I would say Budweiser, but ooh, sorry … sorry.

Just add that to the list of things that are just going piss my father off when he gets sprung from the joint. (Note: In this case, I still do mean the hospital!)

We were on the air last night, but it wasn’t our best effort. Through very little fault of our own. A trip that should have taken 3.5 hours at the most stretched to five. By the time I got in the door, I wasn’t even in the right frame of mind to get in a groove. I was just tired with a brain of oatmeal. I’ve never been in a nearly-100 mile long traffic jam, so in many regards, that was a first that should be celebrated.

I just hope I don’t experience it again anytime soon.

Oh, and PepCo β€” suck it. To charge me $327 for just more than a month of electricity is wrong. You should burn in hell. There’s no way we’re using that much electricity (which leads me to believe there’s something gravely wrong with our thermostat). Even if we ran a full 50,000-watt tower off the deck to broadcast a radio signal, we’d use NOWHERE CLOSE TO THAT MUCH ELECTRICITY. It’s two humans who go to bed at 9 p.m. and two cats.

Growing up, my family of four, running every available TV and appliance in the house, never used that much electricity.

Maybe it’s not a coincidence I just got the “fill out your timesheets for your paycheck” e-mail. A small ray of good fortune!

8 Responses to “It’s as American as …”


  1. July 14, 2008 at 2:25 pm

    But the irony is that Dire Straits is a British band. Granted, Mark Knopfler does have an obvious love for American music forms, such as country and early rock’n’roll (as “Calling Elvis” illustrates). But if you listen to the lyrics of this song, you’ll notice it doesn’t have anything to do with American sports, despite what the video implies…

    So go ahead and include that Belgian beer company in your “As American as…” statement (I’m all for that purchase, BTW. After all, Anheuser-Busch’s best known product, Budweiser, was named after an old Czech pilsener that probably tastes a lot better. And Stella Artois proves that Belgians make a good beer. So who knows, maybe they’ll improve the taste of Bud.)

    TW

  2. July 14, 2008 at 2:30 pm

    Indeed.

    Though I find beer gross, period. In any form.

    And I knew the irony going in.

    I still love the song, too. πŸ™‚

  3. 3 Paige
    July 14, 2008 at 4:00 pm

    They can leave their limey hands off of my Busch Gardens. Fight the power!

  4. July 14, 2008 at 4:00 pm

    I know. This concerns me about the Festhaus greatly.

  5. July 14, 2008 at 4:02 pm

    That would be Belgian hands, Paige, so perhaps they’ll give out free samples of chocolate to go along with the free samples of bad-tasting beer. But I like the Public Enemy reference πŸ™‚

    TW

  6. July 14, 2008 at 4:05 pm

    I know a guy who has an affinity for chocolate beer. Seriously!

  7. 7 Paige
    July 14, 2008 at 7:00 pm

    Yes, I know, TW…I was being…you know…ironic.

    JJ, they can take away the maypole, but we’ll always have Festhaus. Gee, I wonder if there’s a Beck’s theme park in Bruges where they have quaint little cities like Busch Gardens does? What would their Oktoberfest zone be? Williamson? Onego? How about all of McDowell Co.? Just imagine the possibilities!

  8. July 14, 2008 at 8:03 pm

    Paige,

    If Alanis doesn’t have to understand the meaning of irony, neither should I πŸ™‚

    I believe the Beck’s theme park is “all of Germany”. You should make GoDub take a trip there so that she can learn to love beer

    TW


Leave a Reply

Like it? Subscribe!

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

The Stat Sheet

  • 34,542 people have read me!

On Demand

Listen to back episodes of our hit show, "Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends" by subscribing to the feed. New episodes every Sunday night at 9 p.m. exclusively on TalkRadioX.

Subscribe to Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends


Powered by FeedBurner


