10
Jul
08

Indulge my poor musical tastes

I’ll warn you up front, it’s Supertramp.

I’ve had this song in my head for three days and it shows up at random times, like while walking on platforms at the Metro or at night when I’m listening to the fan blow in the bedroom as I’m trying to fall asleep. Maybe it’s a summer association for me, I don’t know. This song reminds me heavily of my summer spent in Syracuse, N.Y., because the classic rock station there had a particular fondness for Supertramp.

I did research on this song, and whether you believe it or not, several Web sites actually call “Take the Long Way Home” one of the best songs in the history of popular music. I probably wouldn’t go that far, but I’m not ashamed to admit that I love it.

And I love it even more that they turned down $5 million for Greyhound to use it in commercials. Trust me, as someone who took the long way home from Binghamton, N.Y., to Pittsburgh, Pa., on a Greyhound, there’s nothing romantically nostalgic about it. It was probably the shittiest 13 hours of my life in terms of transportation.

10 Responses to “Indulge my poor musical tastes”


  1. July 10, 2008 at 2:42 pm

    Who are these people that have you convinced that it’s poor musical taste to like Supertramp? This was an incredible group of musicians whose album “Breakfast In America” was one of the most successful releases of all time, thanks in part to the song you like, “Take The Long Way Home”, which has always been one of my favourites. I love its melancholy nature and the bittersweet subject matter of having an incredible musical career that keeps you away from home, much to the chagrin of your spouse. Now, if you were burning “My Humps” on to a mix CD, that would be another story πŸ™‚

    TW

  2. July 10, 2008 at 2:44 pm

    Oh, please don’t bring up Fergie. That’s a very touchy subject in my dwelling.

  3. July 10, 2008 at 3:31 pm

    Ow, I I just got burned by referencing what’s still listed as one of your top posts. I guess I thought it would be all right since this post kinda references it too, but now that I think about it, you only did so to poke fun at yourself. As they say in the gangster movies, “I meant no disrespect” πŸ™‚ But the important point is that Supertramp rocks.

    TW

  4. July 10, 2008 at 3:33 pm

    I’m laughing out loud … πŸ™‚ I do make fun of myself. I jam out to some pretty awful tunes sometimes.

    But I’m with you. Supertramp is a highly, highly talented group of musicians.

  5. 5 Paige
    July 10, 2008 at 6:18 pm

    This is, without a doubt, a station-changer. It’s about as bad as anything by Yes. But, I still giant heart you. πŸ™‚

  6. July 10, 2008 at 11:31 pm

    Oh, Paige, come join us in the light. You’ve probably been traumatized by hearing “Owner of a Lonely Heart” or “Roundabout” once too often, but Yes is also “Leave It”, “It Can Happen” and “Rhythm of Love”, amongst others. As for Supertramp, you probably like at least one of their songs and don’t know it, like “Goodbye Stranger” or “Breakfast In America”: “Take a look at my girlfriend/She’s the only one I got”

    Type Writer
    Spreading music gospel to the masses, one reader at a time

  7. July 11, 2008 at 9:03 am

    I’m with her on Yes. I run a “Yes-free” environment. I never have enjoyed Yes. Supertramp? An entirely different animal altogether. But Paige has great taste in music, though. Much better than the average bear. I admire it. And really, we’re very similar, minus the affinity for crappy ’70s and ’80s music I’m highly in love with.

  8. July 11, 2008 at 9:45 am

    No love for the Yes-men, huh? But I can take solace in the fact that you like one of my favourite songs by one of my favourite groups. Now, if I could only get you to stop referring to the ’70s and ’80s music you like as crappy, life would be perfect. I only ask this because in a number of cases it’s the same music I like πŸ™‚

    TW

  9. July 11, 2008 at 9:47 am

    I know you’re right — a lot of people would define what I love as “crappy” because I find myself singing “Undercover Angel” by Alan O’Day while I’m waiting in line to buy a bagel, but I think that overwhelmingly, most music made after, say, 1998 or so, is just useless. Most, not all.

  10. July 11, 2008 at 3:22 pm

    Bless you for putting in print that you like “Undercover Angel”. I too am a fan, having discovered it in my brother’s singles collection when I first started getting into music. I recently listened to a radio talk show that included it in a list of Worst Songs of All Time, but I can think of far more egregious tunes (Gnarls Barkley’s “Crazy”, anyone?) “Undercover Angel” exhibits one of the coolest things about ’70s music: how they made sex sound so cute (Exhibit A: Starland Vocal Band’s “Afternoon Delight”). Okay, maybe we’re getting a little crappy here πŸ™‚

    I don’t really have an overarching problem with music after ’98 other than the fact that it’s completely random. I probably had a bigger problem with the early ’90s: I didn’t feel most of the hip-hop of the era, and if I tell you I think that the Foo Fighters are the best band Dave Grohl’s ever been in, then you’ll know the other kind of music I didn’t care for (But perhaps you agree with me about the Foo Fighters thing πŸ™‚ And I do like STP, certain Pearl Jam songs, and a little bit of Soundgarden, so maybe my distate was for one group in particular…) My favourite part of the 90s was mid- to late ’90s when the female singer-songwriters were big, i.e. people like Sarah Maclachlan, Shawn Colvin, Sheryl Crow, Indigo Girls… (Yes, I was the straight guy at the Lilith Fair :))

    TW


Leave a Reply

Like it? Subscribe!

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

The Stat Sheet

  • 34,507 people have read me!

On Demand

Listen to back episodes of our hit show, "Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends" by subscribing to the feed. New episodes every Sunday night at 9 p.m. exclusively on TalkRadioX.

Subscribe to Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends


Powered by FeedBurner


