08
Jul
08

Gaming the system and my attention span

Zee Metro

Zee Metro

I have no attention span. It’s plagued me for years, actually. I mean, I have a hard time actually listening to people because while they’re talking, I’ll be thinking of what I want to say or whether I left my curling iron plugged in. I don’t do it intentionally, I just can’t focus.

(On an unrelated side note, all downtown places along my way to work have restocked diet Mountain Dew. Thank God. Things were getting quite ugly.)

Today, after a restless night and an equally discomforting morning, I had a lot of time to be in my own head on the train from Greenbelt. At some point, after exhausting all of the other avenues I had, I thought how bored I was with the ride in. Greenbelt. L’Enfant. Switch trains. McPherson. McPherson. L’Enfant. Switch trains. Greenbelt. Over and over and over. Day after day after day for more than 50 days.

So I stared at the map. Theoretically, I could hop out at Gallery Place-Chinatown, grab a red to Metro Center and then a Blue/Orange to McPherson. On the map, it’s a far more direct route, even if it requires changing trains twice.

Because I know how to live dangerously, that’s exactly what I did today. It worked out great. For getting a late start (I didn’t get on a train at Greenbelt until almost 8:30) I was coming out of the station at McPherson by 9. Maybe it was a stroke of luck, but it was enough to almost sell me on the concept entirely. You’re only squeezed in for two stops, if that.

I know. This is all I have going on that I’m thinking about?! I wish that were true. But, it’s the best thing I had to write about this morning and I wanted to write. The next few days are going to be really, really busy for me.

But look at the map … I’m just gaming the system, aren’t I? It isn’t like the time savings are so massive it’s worth it, right? It’s like a Kroger card. It’s not that I’m saving any money when I use it, it’s that Kroger jacks up your prices to make you feel like you have a woobie when you pull out that card. That warm, secure woobie.

Had I actually slept last night, it might not have crossed my mind. But these things tend to happen for a reason, I think.

5 Responses to “Gaming the system and my attention span”


  1. July 8, 2008 at 12:19 pm

    I just looked at the map … it CUTS OUT FOUR WHOLE STOPS!! It eliminates Archives/Navy Memorial, L’Enfant, Smithsonian and Federal Triangle.

    I’M A GENIUS!!

  2. 2 Joe
    July 8, 2008 at 1:01 pm

    You so ARE!

  3. July 8, 2008 at 1:06 pm

    Gaming the system or actually saving time?

  4. 4 Joe
    July 8, 2008 at 1:25 pm

    A Genius . . .

  5. 5 Paige
    July 8, 2008 at 5:46 pm

    Yeah, I tried mixing my metro route up for awhile, and eventually came to the understanding that I had it right the first time. But I was blue line to Farragut West, so, I think I was just trying to weasel out of a three block walk up Connecticut. In the winter.

    Still, so bored after just a few weeks that you’re staring at the metro map? You need a Kindle or something, man.


Leave a Reply

Like it? Subscribe!

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

The Stat Sheet

  • 34,507 people have read me!

On Demand

Listen to back episodes of our hit show, "Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends" by subscribing to the feed. New episodes every Sunday night at 9 p.m. exclusively on TalkRadioX.

Subscribe to Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends


Powered by FeedBurner


