05
Jul
08

Post-gaming the Fourth

B: “If I were him, I would have said, ‘Hey, pal. How about a little respect here. You ever hear of an album called Baseball?!”

(Insert about 10 second pause.)

Me: “Um, that album was called ‘Sports.'” (sigh)

B: “Well, WHATEVER!”

— Post-game wrap up of A Capitol Fourth where Huey Lewis and the News opened the show, performing even before American Idol winner Taylor Hicks.

I’m still just happy that I got to see Huey Lewis and the News, even if it was only for three songs.

15 Responses to “Post-gaming the Fourth”


  1. 1 Paige
    July 5, 2008 at 2:44 pm

    Well? Was it worth putting up with that sea of humanity?

  2. July 5, 2008 at 3:05 pm

    You know, it pretty much was worth every minute. We didn’t have to wait on a train going downtown at all and it was pretty empty. (The trip home was different, but still not as offensive as some mornings I go to work.)

    It was very crowded and it POURED almost the entire time. We were soaked to the bone, but it was fun. We decided to wait it out rather than try to get on a train again right away and got a couple of hot dogs and sat on a bench near the Navy Memorial and just talked and people watched. By the time we got the train back to College Park, the crowds had thinned out a good bit.

    Somehow, my memories of the Capitol Fourth had it a lot longer than it was — it was quick. The fireworks were good, but they shot them kind of low, it looked, to avoid going up into the clouds.

    Very worth it, overall. The characters made the evening, but despite being soaked and walking a whole lot, I had so much fun.

  3. 3 Paige
    July 5, 2008 at 6:46 pm

    Glad to hear it! You needed a good night out. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. July 6, 2008 at 11:27 pm

    I’m still reeling from B-Dub not knowing what Huey Lewis’ big album was called. Especially in the context of his statement (“As a matter of fact, I haven’t heard of Baseball ” ๐Ÿ™‚ ) But on a bigger scale, who are these people organizing concerts that don’t realize that Taylor Hicks fifteen minutes of fame ended fifteen months ago?

    TW

  5. July 7, 2008 at 9:37 am

    That’s what he was saying — that it’s ridiculous that Taylor Hicks still gets star status. He observed, and I think pretty accurately, that Taylor Hicks is America’s most prominent karaoke singer.

    Ow!

  6. 6 Ann
    July 7, 2008 at 10:29 am

    I’d love to be America’s most prominent karaoke singer.
    Maybe some day.

  7. 7 Joe
    July 7, 2008 at 2:05 pm

    This is why American Idol is great, until the very end, when it sucks.

    B should be kicked off the air for no knowing Sports. Was he confusing Huey with John Fogarty???

  8. July 7, 2008 at 2:11 pm

    eh, take it easy on the guy. One of the most interesting things about him is that he doesn’t have a favorite artist or band or song or anything like that — he loves to listen to the Vegas station on 1club.fm, though.

    I can’t expect everybody to love Supertramp and Michael McDonald. If only, though.

  9. July 7, 2008 at 3:28 pm

    You can’t get mad at us for commenting on something that you mention right at the beginning of your post, GoDub. While I did appreciate B-Dub’s larger point about Taylor Hicks being so 2006, to use the parlance of your industry, you kinda buried that lead. But my comment was meant to be gentle joshing, anyway, so hopefully you and B-Dub take it as such… Otherwise, I can join Joe in the Commenters’ Lock-up till you guys render a verdict (but just so you know, my defence will be entrapment, and I’ll be calling former Mayor Marion Barry as my expert witness ๐Ÿ™‚ )

    TW
    p.s. I *love* both Supertramp and Michael McDonald, but I made the mistake of talking up the latter to some good friends of mine who have mocked me mercilessly ever since ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. July 7, 2008 at 3:31 pm

    No, no, no, no, no … everybody’s reading it wrong. I’m not mad. Far from it.

    I was saying (or trying to, at least) that it didn’t surprise me that he didn’t know it off the top of his head. He’s just not as into the pop culture as I am.

    Taylor Hicks. Sigh. I’m with Ann. I want to be America’s most noted karaoke singer.

  11. July 7, 2008 at 4:03 pm

    No, no, no, no, no โ€ฆ everybodyโ€™s reading it wrong. Iโ€™m not mad. Far from it.

    Okay, good to know I haven’t ticked off my blogosphere buddy :)…

    Taylor Hicks. Sigh.

    I’m thinking the National Mall people just didn’t get the memo that he’s no longer cool. From here on out, I’m sure his subsequent gigs will be at various Holiday Inn lounges across the country (“Hello, Toledo!”)

    Iโ€™m with Ann. I want to be Americaโ€™s most noted karaoke singer.

    And what would be your big karaoke anthem? (Don’t say “I Will Survive” ๐Ÿ™‚ )

    TW

  12. July 7, 2008 at 4:07 pm

    Oh, definitely not. You’re still the best. ๐Ÿ™‚

    My anthem … hard to say. I do a MEAN “9 to 5” by Dolly Parton. I’ve brought the house down a time or two with that one.

  13. 13 Paige
    July 7, 2008 at 7:08 pm

    So, Tammy, are you gonna be haulin that ditty out at the beach? Because, you know, we WILL end up in a karaoke dive…and, because, you know how your last attempt at 9 to 5 with me in the room ended. :p

  14. July 7, 2008 at 8:25 pm

    I’m hanging my head in shame right now. Shame.

  15. July 8, 2008 at 5:03 pm

    No shame in your game, GoDub, you’re still the best to me ๐Ÿ™‚ But I’m trying to imagine a 3-song Huey show; he had more hits than that on “Sports” alone…

    TW


Leave a Reply

Like it? Subscribe!

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

The Stat Sheet

  • 34,507 people have read me!

On Demand

Listen to back episodes of our hit show, "Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends" by subscribing to the feed. New episodes every Sunday night at 9 p.m. exclusively on TalkRadioX.

Subscribe to Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends


Powered by FeedBurner


