20
May
08

Truth.

busy

T-minus about 48 hours. The movers will be here Thursday. Predictably. I needed them Friday.

Things aren’t going well. They’re not going terribly either. They’re just going fast. They have no choice but to just go. It’s time for the next phase of life and it’s here. What seemed like an idea a month ago is actually here now.

I’m fine, I promise. Just drained. I’m tired in every single way a person possibly could be right now. But there’s a light at the end. I just have to keep moving closer toward it.

I read somewhere that the five most stressful things anybody can go through are:

1. Birth of a child (I’m clear here)
2. Moving (I’m ass-deep in that.)
3. Changing jobs (Monday’s coming. Quickly.)
4. Going through a divorce (… check.)
5. Death in the family (I’m clear for now. But with my luck, someone dies Saturday.)

I’ve completed 60 percent of this list in eight months. Who says I’m not an overachiever?

7 Responses to “Truth.”


  1. May 20, 2008 at 10:58 am

    I read somewhere that the five most stressful things anybody can go through are:

    I’d like the record to show that I made reference to this list in one of GoDub’s previous move-related threads… Just asking for credit where credit is due 🙂

    Plus, I believe 3. is meant to be “Losing a job”, which I know from personal experience is far more stressful than changing a job. Don’t get me wrong, a job change is discombobulating (especially when it’s coupled with an out-of-state move), but some of the stress is assuaged by seeing paychecks continue to be deposited to your bank account…

    4. Going through a divorce (… check.)
    5. Death in the family (I’m clear for now. But with my luck, someone dies Saturday.)

    If I were a wicked soul, I would wonder if GoDub’s ever contemplated using 5. to speed up 4. But I’m not that kind of office equipment, so I would never type that 🙂

    I’ve completed 60 percent of this list in eight months. Who says I’m not an overachiever?

    Having been through 2., 3. and 5. in the last two years, I would say now is a good time for you to start underachieving. At least you can settle down fairly quickly after moving or changing jobs, but the other thing takes a good long while to get over…

    Haven’t done the divorce thing myself, but I’ve seen it mess with a family member… But really, who’s the brain trust who divorces GoDub? Just wondering 🙂

    TW

  2. May 20, 2008 at 12:12 pm

    T-Dubs, I knew you had said it. 🙂 I’ve read it in a few places, too.

    Oh, that divorce — that’s a whole other posting.

  3. May 20, 2008 at 5:11 pm

    Yeah, I know I can’t claim credit for something as widely circulated as that list was; I was just being a smartass 🙂

    But if you need a character witness for your divorce proceeding, I’m willing to testify that you’re a real character…

    TW

  4. 4 jimthomsen
    May 20, 2008 at 8:51 pm

    I look at that list, and think of how depressingly untrendy I am. Why can’t I be cool enough to be divorced? What’s wrong with me????

  5. May 20, 2008 at 10:38 pm

    Divorce, like coolness, is a state of mind, jimthomsen. All you need to do is to apply yourself, and you too can be a part of that 50% failure rate for marriages in America…

  6. 6 Joe
    May 21, 2008 at 8:17 pm

    Thank god I don’t have a uterus!

  7. May 21, 2008 at 10:04 pm

    But think of all the Oprah Winfrey appearances you’re missing out on, Joe…

    TW
    p.s. I realize GoW is busy with her Big Move, but does anyone else feel like a kid whose parents left him home alone? “Look, GoDub, I’m running through the house! With scissors! Now I’m sitting too close to the tv and reading in bad light!”


Leave a Reply

Like it? Subscribe!

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

The Stat Sheet

  • 34,563 people have read me!

On Demand

Listen to back episodes of our hit show, "Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends" by subscribing to the feed. New episodes every Sunday night at 9 p.m. exclusively on TalkRadioX.

Subscribe to Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends


Powered by FeedBurner


