15
May
08

Thank you, New York Post

There’s a reason you’re my favorite newspaper in the world!

The New York Post has an article online today which says, in a nutshell, “Hey, thanks bitches. You’ve really done wonders for both this city and women.”

bitches

Turns out not everybody thinks those women are clever, witty, relevant, “with-it” or hip.

Manolo More: How Carrie and Co. Ruined New York

The first paragraph talks about a woman who’s proud that she’s never seen an episode. I’m with her. She’s my soul sister in that. I saw a preview of one once and thought, “How f-ing stupid,” and never turned it back on. I knew girls in college, and even after, though, that would block of their entire nights. I knew girls who openly cried when the series ended. I know girls who will be at that movie on opening night.

I’ve never seen an episode of “Sex and the City.” And I won’t hang my head.

I don’t go to brunch to talk about random dudes I bang. My previous boyfriends don’t have clever nicknames. I only own a Coach purse because my mother got sick of my dirty hippie knapsack. Sigh.

But, I wanted to share the article … Maybe through putting light on the issue, more of us will come forward. There’s no shame!

11 Responses to “Thank you, New York Post”


  1. May 15, 2008 at 4:12 pm

    There’s a reason you’re my favorite newspaper

    Not the Daily News? Or Newsday (“Truth, Justice and the comics”) ? I’m a Times man myself, but I’m just saying 🙂

    Turns out not everybody thinks those women are clever, witty, relevant, “with-it” or hip.

    To me, the Post article read like damning-with-more-than-faint-praise. New Yorkers complain a lot about anything they think changes the nature of their city, so you could find articles like this about how cleaning up Times Square ruined the City. Or David Dinkins did. Or Ed Koch (he was a favourite target for journalists). Or not rebuilding the World Trade Center yet.

    I’ve never seen an episode of “Sex and the City.” And I won’t hang my head.

    I’ve been vibing on your good impression of me, GoDub, so I hope I don’t ruin it now:

    I actually like Sex and the City. And you might too.

    But I should qualify that statement by saying that I liked the show it evolved into: a witty take on friends and relationships that at its heart was an ode to writing and a love note to New York City…

    But it took the first couple of seasons to get to that point, as initially the basic plot of each episode was the same: four women complaining about their dates from hell. Not the kind of plotlines that made you want to tune in every week, at least if you’re a straight guy, as the male-bashing got old after a while…

    But the third season was where the tenor of the show changed, probably for two reasons: (i) they ran out of bad-date material from the Candace Bushnell book and (ii) they added a male writer for balance (the guy later wrote an advice book for women called “He’s Not That Into You”). That was the season where the women in the show started dating better guys, having longer relationships, and the show stopped seeming like a bad spin-off of “thirtysomething”.

    My previous boyfriends don’t have clever nicknames.

    The only nickname that mattered in that show was “Big” 🙂

    I only own a Coach purse because my mother got sick of my dirty hippie knapsack.

    Was that a hippie knapsack that got dirty or the knapsack of a dirty hippie? Just asking for clarification 🙂

    But, I wanted to share the article … Maybe through putting light on the issue, more of us will come forward. There’s no shame!

    Not the response you were looking for, but there’s no accounting for taste, right? But having said all that, I don’t have high expectations for the movie (which a friend of mine is dragging me to 🙂 )

    TW

  2. 2 jimthomsen
    May 15, 2008 at 11:36 pm

    I’m glad you never bragged about me. 🙂

    Maybe. 🙂

    Just kidding, of course.

  3. May 16, 2008 at 9:54 am

    T-Dub: I don’t judge you. I have a lot of good friends who love the show. And maybe you’re right — if I muddled through the first couple seasons of blah blah blah women crap, I could handle it. I don’t know. I just haven’t gotten to that point yet.

    What I’m lacking, and this is well-documented, is a “typical female” gene. Outside of the obvious, I don’t really have a lot that makes me typically female.

    Jim: Your nickname is Thor, mighty God of Norwegian thunder. 🙂

  4. May 16, 2008 at 2:07 pm

    What I’m lacking, and this is well-documented, is a “typical female” gene.

    I must have picked up some typical female jeans last time I was at the Levi’s store. But I swear I was in the Men’s section; damn…

  5. May 16, 2008 at 2:09 pm

    My female jeans get ordered online at the Gap because they have the extra-long option for the gargantuan I am. 🙂

  6. May 16, 2008 at 2:55 pm

    By “gargantuan”, you mean “tall drink of water”, right? 🙂

  7. May 16, 2008 at 3:01 pm

    That’s funny … I got called a “tall drink of water” earlier today by the guy who sits behind me. 🙂

  8. May 16, 2008 at 3:36 pm

    See? Don’t self-hate, sister! 🙂

  9. May 16, 2008 at 3:44 pm

    That’s just my “I haven’t had time to go to the gym in eons” talking. 🙂 Paige gave me some great DVDs, though. I will be working out both at home and in the gym at my new apartment complex.

  10. May 16, 2008 at 4:01 pm

    Look out, Maryland, here comes Slim-Jean GoDub 🙂 Peace out…

  11. May 16, 2008 at 5:38 pm

    I know! I was supposed to do a mini-triathlon this year and a half-marathon, but this “life” thing got in the way. At least there’s no shortage of places I can run over there!


Leave a Reply

Like it? Subscribe!

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

The Stat Sheet

  • 34,507 people have read me!

On Demand

Listen to back episodes of our hit show, "Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends" by subscribing to the feed. New episodes every Sunday night at 9 p.m. exclusively on TalkRadioX.

Subscribe to Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends


Powered by FeedBurner


