09
May
08

Stuck in my head

For some reason, every time it’s gotten quiet in the last week, this is the song that plays in my mind.

Where are you going
With your long face pulling down, don’t hide away
Like an ocean that you can’t see but you can smell
And the sound of the waves crash down

I am no superman
I have no reasons for you
And I am no hero, oh, that’s for sure
But I do know one thing
Where you are is where I belong
I do know where you go
Is where I want to be

Where are you going?
Where do you go?

Are you looking for answers to questions under the stars?
If along the way
You are grownweary you can rest with me until
A brighter day and you’re OK

I am no superman
I have no answers for you
I am no hero, oh that’s for sure
But I do know one thing
Where you are is where I belong
I do know where you go is where I want to be

Where are you going?
Where do you go?

Where do you go?
Where are you going?

Where do you go?
I am no superman, I have no answers for you
I am no hero, oh, that’s for sure
But I do know one thing
Where you are is where I belong

I do know where you go
Is where I want to be.

Where are you going?
Where do you go?
Where are you going?
Where?

Let’s go.

9 Responses to “Stuck in my head”


  1. May 10, 2008 at 9:24 am

    The Powers That Be have disabled your YouTube clip, so I was unable to play it… Who’s the artist? (Is it okay for me a part-time music journalist and not be up on every artist, or should I turn in my iPod and Olivetti? :))

    Type Writer

  2. May 12, 2008 at 11:48 am

    Where Are You Going, by Dave Matthews Band.

    It was a song from the movie Mr. Deeds.

  3. 3 Joe
    May 12, 2008 at 12:23 pm

    Very serendipitous . . . for myself anyway. Hope you’re doing ok.

  4. May 12, 2008 at 12:51 pm

    Thanks, Dean. 🙂

    It’s a very serendipitous song right now. I hear it a lot now on radio. Or maybe I just notice it.

    I’m doing great. I’ve missed you!!! Just packing and getting ready for step two.

  5. May 12, 2008 at 2:40 pm

    Right now, my typewriter ribbon is blushing. Not only am I familiar with the song in question, I also like it. And it’s no good saying “no one ever recognizes the words of songs” because, in addition to being an after-hours music journalist, I’m also a lyricist…

    But in my defense, I was thrown off by the still image of a woman in the YouTube clip, which led me to believe that the artist was female. Of course, if the song title and artist had appeared, I would have recognized it immediately. In other words, I needed the Girl to be Of a few more Words 🙂

    T Dub

    p.s. On a dull work Monday when I’m tired from attending a CD release-party (and impromptu after-party acoustic jam), followed by an out-of-town Stephen Marley concert the next day, it’s probably appropos that I too now have that song stuck in my head. In particular, it’s the line “Where are you going?” line that’s haunting me, because today the answer feels like “Nowhere”. If it sounds like I’m whining, I probably am 🙂

  6. May 12, 2008 at 2:42 pm

    It’s OK to whine, T Dub. I’m feeling lethargic. It’s very gray here today. The “to-do” list keeps growing and the weather’s just best for naptime.

    CD release party, though. Badass!!!

  7. May 12, 2008 at 3:42 pm

    >It’s OK to whine, T Dub. I’m feeling lethargic. It’s very gray here today. The “to-do” list keeps growing and the weather’s just best for naptime.

    But any weather’s good for naptime, if you think about it 🙂

    > CD release party, though. Badass!!!

    Yeah, it was fun. It was for a local alt-country band and they held it in a pretty nice club, with opening acts and everything. Also, they shot a video for one of the songs, so they premiered it just before the band took the stage… And the spur-of-the-moment after-party was also nice. Just a handful of people back at the drummer’s house, sitting in the yard, drinking Yuengling and playing music. Very cool…

    And the Bob Marley Festival in Orlando was also cool. I met up with a friend from Boston who knows people in Stephen Marley’s band, so I got in for free. And the backup singer that my friend introduced me to previously spotted me from the stage and smiled and waved. So I guess it was worth the gas money and sleep-deprivation to drive up there on a Sunday 🙂

  8. May 12, 2008 at 3:46 pm

    You’re having a lot more fun than I am right now, T-Dub. 🙂

    But if your travels take you to my new home, we HAVE to hang out. It’s not even optional. We will tear that place up like Smith-Corona on a piece of tissue paper.

  9. May 12, 2008 at 4:58 pm

    >You’re having a lot more fun than I am right now, T-Dub.

    I did my penance today, GoDub 🙂 And the end result of all that yucky packing will be a move to a cool new job and a cool new town for you, so just hold on till you get through all of this…

    > But if your travels take you to my new home, we HAVE to hang out. It’s not even optional. We will tear that place up like Smith-Corona on a piece of tissue paper.

    Sounds more like a job for the Mexican Corona than Smith-Corona, but I love your inventive metaphor 🙂 And your enthusiasm is greatly appreciated on a blah Monday afternoon…

    I might get back to Maryland for one of my friend’s belly-dance recitals sometime. She got me to run the sound for her birthday recital in Jan., which I’d never done for a performance before, but it worked for the most part. So we might do that again sometime…


Leave a Reply

Like it? Subscribe!

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

The Stat Sheet

  • 34,514 people have read me!

On Demand

Listen to back episodes of our hit show, "Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends" by subscribing to the feed. New episodes every Sunday night at 9 p.m. exclusively on TalkRadioX.

Subscribe to Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends


Powered by FeedBurner


