08
May
08

Progress, not perfection

step one

So, I tend to get overwhelmed sometimes when I have a giant project in front of me. The panic tends to last maybe 30 minutes at the most and then “logic” will kick in and I can find ways to break the task into smaller, more manageable chunks.

Need movers. Check. Got movers. They’re even coming to Charleston a day earlier than I hoped to pick up my stuff. And they pack! So if there’s anything I didn’t get to, they can help with it. I’ll have my stuff in Maryland an entire day before the drop-deadline.

Need to turn off utilities in Charleston. Oof. Not there yet.

Need to cancel my gym membership in Charleston. Ack. I swear, this afternoon.

Get car/renters insurance.

Well, now. That’s been quite the undertaking.

See, here’s the thing — I have the worst luck in the world. And as luck would have it, my policy in West Virginia ends about seven days before I move to Maryland. Isn’t that a fun little conundrum?

I tried pricing things online this morning and they all seem really high — maybe because rates in West Virginia are high. I’d like to snag the lower Maryland prices if I could, but I don’t know the mechanics of it. All morning, I’ve been filling out forms hoping some eager beaver insurance agent will call me and tell me that everything’s rainbows and lollipops and my premium’s not more than a car payment.

I’m trying to take care of one thing at a time so I don’t feel like this move is greater than I am. I’m still working until the very last minute at my current job which leaves nights spent going through stuff and splitting it into two piles: Goin’ to DC, Goin’ to Goodwill. Fortunately, after a full-scale inventory last night while waiting on my computer to try to fix itself, I don’t think this move is as overwhelming as I initially feared. I’ve really only been in the townhouse eight months, and it’s not humanly possible to amass a lot of crap during that period of time.

I think I’m just ready to get the next phase of my life under way. I’ve mostly handed the torch over at work and I’m already making lists of things I want to do at my new job. I don’t want to say I’ve totally checked out on West Virginia already, but I think I’m just eager. It’s like waiting for your birthday or Christmas, in a way. You can see the end in sight, but it doesn’t feel like time’s going any faster toward it.

But if I could just mark “insurance” off my list, I’d feel worlds better.

4 Responses to “Progress, not perfection”


  1. May 8, 2008 at 4:03 pm

    >But if I could just mark “insurance” off my list, I’d feel worlds better.

    We’d all like to mark “insurance” off our list 🙂

    If it makes you feel better, I’ve made several job-related moves, and even the best ones still have their challenges… But I get the feeling you have the right attitude about it, given your post title. And it does help to be excited about where you’re moving to, as I was when the Selectric company moved me from Poughkeepsie, NY down to Boca Raton, FL…

    TW

  2. 2 Paige
    May 8, 2008 at 4:45 pm

    Step 1…cut a hole in the box.

  3. May 9, 2008 at 7:19 am

    Step 2 … put your junk in that box.

    I’ve been doing that for a week. 🙂 And it multiplies overnight.

    TW: For real. Though one company I’ve been dealing with has been amazing and it’s actually about $30 cheaper than what I was paying in WV. I can’t complain about that company. They suck much less than my old one.

    Selectric … I just cracked up. Seriously. Now I need to actually go to work.

  4. May 9, 2008 at 4:01 pm

    >Step 2 … put your junk in that box.
    >
    >I’ve been doing that for a week. And it multiplies overnight.

    Every time I move, I’m convinced that the Buddhists are on to something with that non-materialistic thing 🙂

    > TW: For real. Though one company I’ve been dealing with has been amazing and it’s actually about $30 cheaper than what I was paying in WV. I can’t complain about that company. They suck much less than my old one.

    But don’t you love how non-intuitive insurance rates are? I don’t know much about where you are in Dub Vee, but I have to think you’re moving to a more urban area, probably with higher car-theft rates, so it’s funny to hear that your rate’s gone down. But good for you for getting one over on the system 🙂

    > Selectric … I just cracked up. Seriously.

    That’s what keeps my keys clacking 🙂

    T Dub


Leave a Reply

Like it? Subscribe!

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

The Stat Sheet

  • 34,507 people have read me!

On Demand

Listen to back episodes of our hit show, "Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends" by subscribing to the feed. New episodes every Sunday night at 9 p.m. exclusively on TalkRadioX.

Subscribe to Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends


Powered by FeedBurner


