05
May
08

I’ll sleep when I’m dead

headbanger

(That’s for you, Type Writer! Keeping it going!)

So, to quickly bring everybody BACK up to speed …

1. I start my new job in DC on May 26. I’m excited. It’s going to be quite an adventure. I was in the area this past weekend getting a new home base and I picked up my paper. I just already feel a tremendous sense of pride. I feel proud when I look at it. I straightened it up in the racks at Dunkin’ Donuts to make sure it looked presentable. (I’m a geek.)

2. Speaking of being in the area — housing secured. In scorched-earth, rapid-fire fashion, I’m now the proud resident of a spectacular two-bedroom apartment in Wynfield Park in College Park, Md. It’s a nice, gated community that has a pool and a 24-hour gym and a bunch of other things (like 9-foot ceilings and 6-foot windows) that make me happy. The apartment has a huge living room, a dining room, a gas fireplace, a wraparound balcony, giant bathtubs and they’re gonna let me hang my Man TV above the fireplace. It’s about five minutes (or less) from the grocery store, directly across the street from an IKEA and really nice little shopping center with new townhouses, close to a pharmacy (because I’m perpetually sick). It’s about 5 miles from the closest Target and 6 miles from the nearest Wal-Mart (yeah, I check these things). I’m willing to bet Sunday’s going to be spent trying to find these places quickly.

3. I haven’t started packing yet. Hell, I haven’t even really secured the movers. Note to self …

4. Inky and Walter are making the move, too, even though my Mom suggested that I donate Walter to a “humane, no-kill shelter.” I’ll remember that when Mom turns 90 and can’t live on her own anymore.

5. My last span of work is going along pretty well. I feel rather lame duckish, but I guess I am lame duckish.

6. I’m sleeping a lot these days, which isn’t conducive to that “get stuff packed quickly.” I just feel drained. I get wiped out easily when major changes like moving happen. I also get wiped out easily when I’m under a lot of stress. Right now is one of those times.

7. Journey just started playing on the ’80s channel on AOL Radio. It’s the song “Don’t Stop Believin’.” It’s cheeseball, but maybe that’s what I needed to hear right now.

I think that’s about it … I’m not sure how much time I’ve got to devote to this between packing, cleaning and the rest. It’s going to be an incredibly hectic 18 days until that moving truck shows up. I know that much. So, if you’re inclined (and some of you are … you’ve shown it again and again) wish me a little luck. It’s a huge leap, but one I’m waiting eagerly to make.

13 Responses to “I’ll sleep when I’m dead”


  1. May 5, 2008 at 4:00 pm

    > (That’s for you, Type Writer! Keeping it going!)

    I’m not sure what that shout-out means exactly, but I’m hoping my being mentioned by “name” is a good thing 🙂

    >I was in the area this past weekend getting a new home base and I picked up my paper. I just already feel a tremendous sense of pride.

    If it’s the paper I think it is, you should. I think their motto could easily be “Great Journalism, *and* the comics. Take that, Paper of Record!”

    > I feel proud when I look at it. I straightened it up in the racks at Dunkin’ Donuts to make sure it looked presentable. (I’m a geek.)

    Apparently, “geek” is a synonym for “OCD” in this context… But I kid the girlofwords…

    > I’m now the proud resident of a spectacular two-bedroom apartment in Wynfield Park in College Park, Md.

    I have a good friend from college that lives in Takoma Park (and her first marriage took place in College Park). She’s is an urban planning consultant by day, and a belly dancer (and mom) by night…

    >Inky and Walter are making the move, too, even though my Mom suggested that I donate Walter to a “humane, no-kill shelter.” I’ll remember that when Mom turns 90 and can’t live on her own anymore.

    🙂

    >Journey just started playing on the ’80s channel on AOL Radio. It’s the song “Don’t Stop Believin’.” It’s cheeseball, but maybe that’s what I needed to hear right now.

    Nowadays when I hear that song, instead of it reminding me of high school, I now think about the Sopranos finale…

    May you quickly return to the kind of life where banging your head means listening to Van Halen (and don’t tell me you don’t, because everybody does, even if they don’t admit it :))

  2. May 5, 2008 at 4:04 pm

    You rock my world! 🙂

    I bet it’s the one you think it is. It’s not a broadsheet. We can say that, right? It’s not a broadsheet and its front is very vibrant and colorful. And there aren’t nudie ads in it.

    Who knew movers were a huge pain in the ass like that, you know?

  3. 3 Ann
    May 6, 2008 at 7:52 am

    Your new crib looks really, really cool. You can hire me to come out and clean it on the weekends. I’d do that for weekend room and board, easy.

  4. May 6, 2008 at 8:28 am

    > You rock my world!

    You just made the proudest Smith-Corona in the whole wide world 🙂 (Actually, given my day job, I should have said IBM Selectric… Yes, folks, the Type Writer is a geek by trade..)

    > I bet it’s the one you think it is. It’s not a broadsheet.

    Actually, the one I was thinking of is a broadsheet… Oops 🙂

    > We can say that, right?

    To paraphrase Cartman, we can say what we want 🙂

    > It’s not a broadsheet and its front is very vibrant and colorful. And there aren’t nudie ads in it.

    Okay, I’ll have to do a little more research… But I am impressed by the fact that it doesn’t have nudie ads. In my previous incarnation as a freelance music journalist, when I was being next to nothing instead of just nothing, I was writing CD reviews for a Fort Lauderdale weekly whose nudie ad page count kept rising and rising… This weekly is owned by a very prominent Chicago-based newspaper company, I might add, in case anyone was wondering what makes paper biz go round…

    >Who knew movers were a huge pain in the ass like that, you know?

    I must be a lucky guy, because my experience with movers have all been positive. If anything, my worst mover has been myself, which is why I don’t give myself much business any more 🙂

    The Type Writer (aka The Oreo, which was in honour of that cookie blog you like so much)

  5. May 6, 2008 at 8:44 am

    p.s. As Colombo might say, “A couple more t’ings..”

    i) Apparently, it’s too early in the a.m. for me to be writing, as I see after the fact that I left a few words out here and there… So my normally-sparkling wit appears flat and lifeless… Help me, Ms. Editor!

    ii) I think I found the website for your new employer. Does the “front page” contain a picture of Hilary about to devour a campaign supporter? (Wait, is that her happy face? :))

    Type Writer (the original Good Cookie poster)

  6. May 6, 2008 at 9:20 am

    Real quick — The Web site has a couple of stories right now about say, fathers and cars on the left rail. 🙂

    If you examine it closely enough, you’ll see it.

    (huge clue Shel! Huge clue!!)

    hahaha!! 🙂

  7. 7 Carissa Davis
    May 6, 2008 at 9:35 am

    College Park is a nice area…just don’t let the turtles suck you in. 🙂

  8. May 6, 2008 at 9:37 am

    No way! I’ll be proud to put my WVU mat outside my door. 🙂 And I’ll proudly wear my gear around town when I have to grocery shop.

  9. May 6, 2008 at 11:03 am

    [hangs head] I think I’m flunking the investigative reporter test, which will cause The Cookie Girl to re-think her impression of my research skills… I haven’t run across any stories on fathers and cars (that’s not code for Oldsmobile, is it?), so I may have to punt and ask my friend in Takoma Park 🙂

    Type Writer (presently with a few jammed keys)

  10. May 6, 2008 at 11:09 am

    It’s OK. You’re still awesome.

    Another clue: This paper has sister papers in San Francisco, Baltimore and Denver.

  11. May 6, 2008 at 1:17 pm

    > It’s OK. You’re still awesome.

    Can I use you as a personal reference? I’ve made good first impressions before, but never online; I think my keys are starting to blush 🙂

    >Another clue: This paper has sister papers in San Francisco, Baltimore and Denver.

    Okay, this was the “tipping point” clue for me; it caused me to go back to a site I had already looked at, and *this time* I saw the stories about fathers *and* about cars… Not sure why I didn’t see them before 🙂

    Is it safe to say that the San Fran paper is the best known of that group? That’s the one whose name seemed most familiar to me…

    Congrats on the move to a bigger media market, and Maryland seems like a pretty cool state to live in (i.e. just as nice as Virginia, but a cheaper cost of living?) And is the job a step up too?

    TW (or SIR, if you prefer :))
    p.s. I fully expect that even when dead I’ll still be tired 🙂

  12. May 6, 2008 at 1:50 pm

    Yes, San Francisco I think is the main daddy. It’s where this girl would like to wrap up a healthy career of afflicting the comfortable.

    The move’s gonna be OK — I got a great estimate from the movers and they have been SUPER nice. My old apartment complex is letting me right outta the lease … my proverbial ducks are coming into alignment, sir.

  13. May 6, 2008 at 11:34 pm

    > Yes, San Francisco I think is the main daddy. It’s where this girl would like to wrap up a healthy career of afflicting the comfortable.

    San Fran would be a great place to land, and they’re all about afflicting the comfortable there 🙂

    > my proverbial ducks are coming into alignment, sir.

    Those ducks must be heading south for the summer (hey, SIR are my initials… done on purpose by surprisingly clever parents :))


Leave a Reply

Like it? Subscribe!

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Top Clicks

  • None

The Stat Sheet

  • 34,524 people have read me!

On Demand

Listen to back episodes of our hit show, "Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends" by subscribing to the feed. New episodes every Sunday night at 9 p.m. exclusively on TalkRadioX.

Subscribe to Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends


Powered by FeedBurner


