16
Apr
08

Savor your dreams

Your dream to, say, be a mascot.

Parrot

I also have a dream that one day, after 16 years, my baseball team actually has a season that ends above .500. Right now, their record stands at 7-7. I expect that to derail. Especially with their ownership. Why spend money on talent? You’ll take the kids to the ball park in the summer to buy $15 hot dogs even if the team sucks.

A link that’s almost two years old, but still relevant as this year’s Major League Baseball season gets under way:

PNC Park Threatens To Leave Pittsburgh Unless Better Team Is Built

“When I came here in 2001, they promised me a championship team,” the stadium said. “I was warned by venerable and much-beloved Three Rivers Stadium — which imploded soon afterwards, as you know — that I should look elsewhere, that this team was set in its ways and not focused on rebuilding, that they were simply using me as a means to make money,” the stadium said. “I was young and brash and I didn’t listen. Now that I am more mature and have settled a bit, I realize I have to do what is best for me and my family.”

I miss Three Rivers. They imploded it on my birthday. Apropos.

3 Responses to “Savor your dreams”


  1. 1 Joe
    April 16, 2008 at 12:46 pm

    My friends a Buc fan and he doesn’t miss 3 Rivers, he does miss winning though.

  2. April 16, 2008 at 12:49 pm

    I think what I DO miss about Three Rivers is the nostalgia. PNC, however, has to be about the nicest ball park in the country.

    I’m a huge sucker for nostalgia.

    And I miss winning. A lot.

  3. 3 Carissa
    April 17, 2008 at 1:26 pm

    The nice stadium and beautiful view of the city is distract you from how much the team sucks (usually anyway).


Leave a Reply

Like it? Subscribe!

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Top Clicks

  • None

The Stat Sheet

  • 34,563 people have read me!

On Demand

Listen to back episodes of our hit show, "Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends" by subscribing to the feed. New episodes every Sunday night at 9 p.m. exclusively on TalkRadioX.

Subscribe to Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends


Powered by FeedBurner


