14
Apr
08

You can sense it

It’s starting out to be one of these kids of days.

Angry Face

I woke up at 5:48 a.m. When I woke up then, I was so wide awake I could have run laps around the neighborhood. Instead, I willed myself to go back to sleep for an hour. Only an hour didn’t turn into an hour. An hour turned into 7:30.

That’s a good 30 minutes behind schedule.

I’m running late getting ready to come to work on a day that I’m already dreading because of various commitments I have today, and I have a case of the “dropsies.” I literally can’t keep anything in my hands to save my life. It was almost as if I was standing in the shower trying to get through it quickly and my motor skills were still curled up in bed.

I get to 7-Eleven to get some caffeine, because I figure that’s about all I got going for me at that stage and … my credit card’s missing. I knew the last time I used it, I went over a few places it could have been, nothing. It’s gone. I lose 45 minutes to trying to figure out how to reach the credit card company without knowing the fucking number on the back of the card.

Taken care of. Set. Done.

Every time my phone has made its shrill, off-putting noise today at my desk, it’s been some call that’s made me want to reach through the phone and choke slam someone.

Needless to say, I’m not a ray of sunshine today. I don’t have a “case of the Mondays.” I’m just … gah. I’m just pissed off. And I don’t know why. Aside from minor annoyances that, oh, everybody, has to endure in the course of an average day, I’m arguably in the best place in my life I’ve been, well, ever.

This weekend, I was employing a line from the liquor store clerk in “Superbad.” Every time something would happen that would frustrate me, I’d sigh heavily and say, “Fuck my life.” Last night, I guess close to midnight, I realized that it wasn’t fair of me to keep saying that. Especially TO someone who does his best to just love me in every way he can. It’s not fair to keep blaming someone for annoyances that pop up just because they happen to be the unlucky human sitting in the room.

‘Cause God knows, I’d try to pin this on Walter and Inky. Especially Inky. Inky is a klepto. She steals. She lost pills of mine once. I wouldn’t put it past her to take my credit card. She’d buy herself a blinged out collar and a first-class plane ticket to Barbados.

So, I guess the overriding theme is I just needed to get it out. I needed to get it on paper, so to speak, so I can get over it and get on with my day. I have a lot to be thankful about. A lot I should really be grateful for. And really, if losing my credit card and breaking bread with fossils is the worst thing that happens to me today, I’m not doing too bad.

But for the sake of everybody … I’ll probably stop answering the phone at my desk. At least for today.

9 Responses to “You can sense it”


  1. 1 Joe
    April 14, 2008 at 3:14 pm

    And I was just about to call you . . .

  2. April 14, 2008 at 3:30 pm

    I’ll give you my cell phone number. You can call me there. I actually answer it. šŸ™‚

  3. 3 Joe
    April 14, 2008 at 3:38 pm

    Probably not a good idea . . . I might try and seduce you.

  4. April 14, 2008 at 3:43 pm

    The telemarketer who called me this morning tried to, I think. He said, “You just have the most sweet, pleasant sounding voice.” Obviously, he interpreted the heavy sigh and the clear disdain in my voice as an open invite!!

  5. 5 Joe
    April 14, 2008 at 4:58 pm

    That’s usually my interpretation . . .

  6. 6 Paige
    April 14, 2008 at 6:34 pm

    I’ll see your bad day and raise you a bad month. Or two. Hell, make it six.

    I need a very long vacation. This was the Monday to end most Mondays.

  7. 7 Ann
    April 14, 2008 at 7:16 pm

    I probably shouldn’t have encouraged the bad morning with the line from the Paper … and I feel as though the Superbad line is my fault too.
    But you’re giving me good examples all over the place as of late, and the “get it out, get over it, and get on with it” is an especially good one. I’m truly appreciative šŸ˜€

  8. April 14, 2008 at 7:44 pm

    Paige: We’re due a long vacation. Especially in light of recent developments.

    Sweet, Sweet Ann: Thank you. šŸ™‚ Your movie goodness has been an inspiration. Today wasn’t all that bad, though. It got pretty good at the end!

  9. 9 Shannon
    April 14, 2008 at 10:01 pm

    Breathe! Breathe!

    And if all else fails, throw your phone out the window and go Office Space on the fax machine for the fun of it.


Leave a Reply

Like it? Subscribe!

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Top Clicks

  • None

The Stat Sheet

  • 34,507 people have read me!

On Demand

Listen to back episodes of our hit show, "Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends" by subscribing to the feed. New episodes every Sunday night at 9 p.m. exclusively on TalkRadioX.

Subscribe to Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends


Powered by FeedBurner


