11
Apr
08

I love you, Interwebs

First, an axiom you must remember always.

Rick

I know that since Al Gore my Mom your Mom the military whoever invented the Internet, it’s become about the quickest way to have something go from “I have an idea” to “Oh, this has just spiraled out of control.”

I read this story this morning and laughed really, really hard, and then marveled at the amazing power of the Interwebs.

Baseball Giants Get Rickrolled

For those of you new to the concept of “rickrolled” here’s the definition:

Tricking someone on the Internet into watching the music video for Rick Astley’s song “Never Gonna Give You Up” via links through the Internet. Usually masked as a YouTube link, noting something completely unrelated to the video.

I don’t think I could love this concept any more if I tried.

And I can’t believe the Mets aren’t on board with using that No. 1 hit (OK, so it was a No. 1 hit a whole 21 years ago) for their theme song this year! What part of Rick Astley’s steadfast dedication to excellence is lost in those lyrics.

And, yeah. You got me. I’ve listened to the song about five times today. Yeah, I have it in my iTunes. Yeah, I’m a giant loser.

2 Responses to “I love you, Interwebs”


  1. 1 Joe
    April 13, 2008 at 11:57 am

    Was it really 21 years ago???? OMFG!!!

    I guess I’m a giant loser too!

    Inside we both know what’s been goin on . . . we know the game and we’re gonna play it . .

  2. 2 Angela
    April 13, 2008 at 2:44 pm

    Oh, yeah. The visual was way, way, way too much. In such a good way, Jacque. Thank you for it. I must suck because I hadn’t even heard of rickrolling until today. Where’s my big L for “loser.”

    and p.s. Joe is funny.

    Were no strangers to love
    You know the rules and so do I

    Bwahahahahahaa! (Thanks for my fourth laugh in as many days — I need more laughter.)


Leave a Reply

Like it? Subscribe!

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Top Clicks

  • None

The Stat Sheet

  • 34,564 people have read me!

On Demand

Listen to back episodes of our hit show, "Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends" by subscribing to the feed. New episodes every Sunday night at 9 p.m. exclusively on TalkRadioX.

Subscribe to Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends


Powered by FeedBurner


