09
Apr
08

‘Teacher Suspended for Honesty’

Shut Up

High School Advisor Suspended For Memo

(Way to ignore AP style on that headline, News-Register. Well played. Adviser would have been the right choice.)

When I was a kid, my parents would say things to me like, “If you want to act like an idiot, people will think you’re an idiot.”

Perception is reality, right? At least in most cases?

All she said was “If you want to act like trailer trash, I’ll treat you like trailer trash.”

At the very least, it got their attention.

But no … nooooooooo … let’s not blame the kids for acting like asshole punks raised by crappy parents who have no sense of responsibility. It’s clearly the teacher’s fault. Those precious angels couldn’t have done a single thing wrong.

Politically correct bullshit. Oh, we can’t possibly hurt little Roy’s feelings. Roy is a precious angel. Who cares that he’s lazy and disrespectful?

Give me a freakin’ break. Really. If I acted as poorly as half of today’s teenagers do now … I would have lost the majority of my teeth by the time I was 18.

My kids are going to hate me some day. They really will. But you know what? They won’t be asshole punks, either. I’ll take that tradeoff.

6 Responses to “‘Teacher Suspended for Honesty’”


  1. 1 Ann
    April 9, 2008 at 7:32 pm

    I’m still working to find out what exactly happened to make the FFA teacher that full of rage. Had to have been epic.

  2. 2 Joe
    April 10, 2008 at 4:03 pm

    My wife is a teacher and she deals with this shit all the time. My favorite all time quote from one of her students:

    “The problem with (the teachers) is that they expect us to treat them with more respect than we treat our parents.”

    Res Ipsa Loquitur

  3. April 10, 2008 at 9:08 pm

    Oh, man. I hope you showed her this story. It still just causes me to want to choke slam people. My mom’s a teacher of 30-some years in the public school system. She’s LUCKY she hasn’t killed someone by now. We were NEVER allowed to act half as awful as the students she sees now.

  4. 4 Foobs
    April 11, 2008 at 6:13 pm

    1) I wish I knew what the kids were doing to get the bidness.

    2) She didn’t call them trailer trash, she said that IF you act like it, you’ll be treated like it. Big difference.

    3) Are you allowed to complain about trailer trash when you’re working with the FAA. Isn’t that what you signed up for?

    4) You must be in love to have done such a 180 on the kid front.

    5) Why is it so hard to stop a list like this.

    6) I mean, clearly I have nothing more to say. I’m just babbling and earning the label ‘idiot’

    7) But I just keep going for no explicable reason at all. It’s a damn shame I don’t have any willpower.

  5. April 12, 2008 at 8:34 am

    Ann’s working on finding out the details of WHAT they did. She said that if the FFA teacher lost her shit like that, it had to be something good.

  6. 6 Angela
    April 13, 2008 at 2:50 pm

    lol @ Foobs. Not knowing more, I’ll keep my mouth shut. Or at least try to. It’s a lesson I’ve been attempting to learn. And p.s. Thanks for reminding me why I don’t teach anymore!


Leave a Reply

Like it? Subscribe!

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Top Clicks

  • None

The Stat Sheet

  • 34,507 people have read me!

On Demand

Listen to back episodes of our hit show, "Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends" by subscribing to the feed. New episodes every Sunday night at 9 p.m. exclusively on TalkRadioX.

Subscribe to Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends


Powered by FeedBurner


