03
Apr
08

‘You have really shitty taste in music, baby.’

Natalie Dee
nataliedee.com

It snapped me back into the car.

Where I was in my head was an entirely different place. In my head, I was bobbing along singing, “If I had a million dollars … If I had a million dollars … I would buy you a house …”

“What?” I asked as I looked over at B, who by this point was mocking the movement of killing himself with a gun to the head. “You don’t like Barenaked Ladies?”

“They had this song, and maybe like five others that are decent at best. The rest suck.”

“You suck.”

Oooh … score one for me in the “How to Win Friends and Influence People” category.

This from a man who put “Fergalicious,” “The Milkshake Song” and “Hey There Delilah” on a mix CD for a girl. (In the interest of full disclosure, it accidentally found its way both IN my office and later in my Mac when I mistook it for a blank CD that I needed to burn some pics.)

But come ON! Three of the most arguably WORST SONGS EVER MADE were on that CD, and he wants to call me out for being a giant Foo Fighters fan (hey, I’ve been repeatedly told they suck, too), liking Barenaked Ladies songs and having an affinity for 1970s music?

Whatever. What. Ever. Hey there Delilah heard your taste in music’s shitty …

But, I digress. And it’s OK. If I got mocked for every mix CD I ever made for a person, the mockery would last well into the next decade. And that’s being generous. Very generous. I’d mock me until at least the next century.

This revelation that I, the one who always has music in some form playing, had “shitty” taste in music, was shocking. Sure, I love cheeseball classics like “Waiting for a Star to Fall” and “Saturday Night” by the Bay City Rollers. Who the hell doesn’t? Can any one of you tell me that you DON’T listen to crap every now and again?

Sweet Ann calls my AOL Radio ’90s station “Applebee’s Radio.” Mostly because every song you hear on that channel has at one time been played ad nauseum at America’s hometown restaurant.

Sometimes, when I get ready for work or going out at home, I put it on the 1970s or 1980s music channel on cable and turn it all the way up. Saturday before the wedding we were going to I was jamming out to some of the best 1980s music the channel had to offer — Mr. Mister, Whitesnake, John Parr (I felt the St. Elmo’s fire burning in me), Madonna — and I hear from the room down the hall, “Who has shitty taste in music? Who? My Jacque. That’s who.”

So, quick reader poll:

You hang out with me in some cases. Is my taste in music legitimately shitty or is “eccentric” or “random like a Jack FM” more appropriate?

What songs are you playing on your CDs you KNOW suck, but love anyway.

‘Cause right now, in the wagon I’m blasting some Biz Markie. ‘Cause baby YOOOOOOOOU … GOT WHAT I NEEEEEEEEEEEED.

9 Responses to “‘You have really shitty taste in music, baby.’”


  1. 1 Paige
    April 3, 2008 at 5:56 pm

    Sorry, B. Hey There Delilah is a dealbreaker. I hope said girl made a nice coaster out of that turd.

    As for yuns, Ms. J, there’s a whole bunch of questionably obtained tuneage to add to that hard drive on your next visit. Who’s getting the top 500 of the 80’s? Whooooo?

  2. April 3, 2008 at 6:08 pm

    TOP 500 OF THE ’80s!!!!!!!!! HOLY CRAP!!! I’M SOFA DANCING. I AM LITERALLY SOFA DANCING RIGHT NOW!!!

  3. April 4, 2008 at 9:35 am

    Oh yeah! Some fucking “accident” finding that CD. I’m sure. Guess who’s not welcome in the bed tonight?

  4. April 4, 2008 at 9:36 am

    It literally was! Seriously! It couldn’t have happened in a more accidental way.

  5. 5 Foobs
    April 4, 2008 at 1:24 pm

    I’m the last person to defend you on the charge of having horrible taste in music (and say what you want about BNL, their songs do sound different from each other), BUT…

    You can’t blame a song because other songs by the band suck (If I Had a Million Dollars is a wonderful song). You can’t blame an album because the band made crap after that (“Yourself Or Someone Like You” and “Throwing Copper” are GREAT albums). You can’t blame my brother for me being an ass. That’s just how it works.

    So yes, Virginia, you do have awful taste in music. However, Delilah is a good song…

  6. April 4, 2008 at 1:26 pm

    Foobs, I love you. You always find some way to gently tell me I really *am* a giant loser when it comes to picking music. I know that we’ve had this argument before, even. You people and your distaste of the Foo Fighters just causes me emotional turmoil.

  7. 7 Carissa Davis
    April 4, 2008 at 1:44 pm

    If I had a million dollars….just left my head and now it’s back! Actually, what got that song in my head was the Minnesotans for Global Warming video for “If We Had Some Global Warming” on Youtube.

  8. April 4, 2008 at 1:48 pm

    Oh crap … nothing’s worse than dirty hippies manipulating songs for the purpose of propaganda! Nooooooooo!!!

  9. April 24, 2008 at 5:42 pm

    “Hey There Delilah” is only suitable for a soundtrack for blowing your brains out. But if I had a million dollars, I put the Barenaked Ladies on repeat 🙂 (Is there such a thing as a bad BNL album?)

    Robert Smith of The Cure keeps the world safe from Barbara Streisand. And “Fergalicious” is high art compared to “My Humps”.

    Say nice things about dirty hippies, naive though they may be. I’d take them over a bunch of clean neo-cons any day of the week…

    oreo


Leave a Reply

Like it? Subscribe!

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Top Clicks

  • None

The Stat Sheet

  • 34,542 people have read me!

On Demand

Listen to back episodes of our hit show, "Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends" by subscribing to the feed. New episodes every Sunday night at 9 p.m. exclusively on TalkRadioX.

Subscribe to Happy Hour -- The Show That Never Ends


Powered by FeedBurner


